Our “Twins”

I haven’t been updating my blog nearly as often as I would like to lately – Nate, Ben and I are all fighting nasty colds.  I’ve actually been running a fever these last 2 days and actually was sent home from work early on Tuesday – something that has NEVER happened to me before!

So I’ve been spending a lot of my spare time cuddling with babies, napping, drinking lots of tea and juice and taking my ibuprofen.  I can’t wait for spring when this cold and flu season will hopefully come to an end.

twins-1

Nate and Ben are almost like twins these days.  Ben will be 3 soon, and Nate is about 6 months old, and they both weigh around 20 lbs.  They are both in 12-18 month clothes, although they tend to be a little loose on Ben and a little long on Nate.  And they are similar in terms of their development, although Ben is ahead in his gross motor skills (can roll both ways and is starting to ‘army crawl’), and Nate is ahead with oral motor skills.  They can both now sit independently fairly well.

twins-2

I have noticed that since Nate has been sitting more, Ben seems to have decided that sitting isn’t so bad after all.  Previously, he just enjoyed rolling around on the floor.  Of course, Ben’s better vision with his new glasses could be encouraging him to sit up and look around more too…

twins-3

Nate hates to be left alone for any period, but he will often play happily if he is sitting with Ben.  That is, until Ben takes away his toys…

twins-4

We had hoped that Nate would give Ben some positive peer pressure with his development, and I think he has.

twins-5

I think Ben looks proud that Nate fell over before he did!

8 Responses to “Our “Twins””

  1. Megan Says:

    Ben looks so daper in his new glasses! So cute!!! The boys look like they are best buds! These are adorable pictures. I hope you feel better soon.

  2. Heidi @ ggip Says:

    Haha. Funny comment about Ben being proud of not falling over first!

    And look at those cheeks on Nate! He is a big guy if he is wearing 12-18 month size!!

    I was thinking the other day how interesting life would be if I had a typically developing baby and Blue with CdLS. I guess I know what it is like by reading your blog 🙂

    I hope you feel better soon. I’ve said it a million times this winter but it is a BAD winter for sickness.

  3. Sandi Says:

    They look so cute sitting and playing together!! That last photo is too funny 🙂

    Hope you are feeling better soon! I’m still not 100% recovered from whatever nasty flu/chest cold bug I had…it stuck around for 3 weeks, ugh! It’s bad this year.

  4. Rhonda Says:

    I hope you guys are feeling better. This was such a cute post. And, Ben, I love the new glasses! You are so handsome.

  5. Rachelle Says:

    Cute pictures! I hope you all are feeling better. We got twin comments all the time when Joey and Emma were babies. They are only 10 1/2 months apart in age and Emma was only about 3 or 4 months old before they were the same size. Joey learns so much from his older brothers and younger sisters. I am so glad Ben is learning from his siblings too.

  6. Deni Says:

    this is just gorgeous. I love all the pics of the two of them playing together, and you are right, it is soooo important for Ben’s development.

  7. Miss Behaving Says:

    The pictures are so cute.
    Isn’t Nate the image of Jonathan?
    Hope you all feel bettter soon.
    Somehow we haven’t had anything much this winter, touch wood.

  8. lisa leonard Says:

    these are such precious pics. i have a lot of photos of the boys when they were the same size and development. so fun. and i agree–matty has definitely inspired david to try new things and helped push him forward. love ben’s new glasses. 4 boys–you are so blessed!


Leave a Reply

