Green Tea Ice Cream

I love green tea ice cream.  I first tasted it at a Japanese restaurant in the area only a few years ago, and I couldn’t believe that such a wonderful flavor wasn’t sold at the supermarket along with the vanilla and chocolate.  It turns out that in our small town, if you want green tea ice cream (and you didn’t want to go to a restaurant with four young children), you’d have to make your own.

My only problem was that the Japanese green tea/matcha powder isn’t sold locally either.  Fortunately, our friend Miss Behaving sent us some genuine matcha powder all the way from Japan this summer.  You know it’s real matcha when you can’t even read the writing on the package!  Isaac, who is very much into Nintendo, Pokemon, Bakugan, and all things Japanese, was very impressed.  He eagerly volunteered to help me make some green tea ice cream.

This was my first attempt at making any kind of ice cream.  I found this recipe online and I doubled the amounts.  It turned out to be really simple to make.

We dissolved the matcha powder in some hot water, made some custard out of sugar, egg yolks, milk and cream…

…combined everything and cooled it…

…and churned it in our trusty Kitchen Aid.

It turned out really well!  It was simply delicious, and the entire container was eaten in less than a week by Mark, Isaac and myself.  OK, maybe I had more than my fair share!  😉

Thank you, Miss Behaving, for a real treat!

17 Responses to “Green Tea Ice Cream”

  1. Misty (mason's mom) Says:

    YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thank you SO much for sharing this! i will definately have to try to make it! i don’t know how it will go over with mike and jaiden (they are picky), but that means more for me!! and i could probably finish it off myself in a week.. LOL!

  2. Jenn's Serving Ice Cream Says:

    Yup! Green tea ice cream is a great treat – but the green tea – especially good green tea can be hard to find. The first time I tried making green tea ice cream, I used a low quality brand. It turned out pretty bitter. Gotta use good green tea – I learned the hard way! Great recipe!

  3. Mom/Grandma Says:

    Was it deliberate that this was made AFTER I left, so that there will be more for you?

  4. Mark Says:

    I LOVE GREEN TEA ICE CREAM!!! It doesn’t come easy to find around my neck of the woods either but luckily i have a friend who has a grandmother in Sakado that sends him all kinds of things (mostly gaming things). Have fun!

  5. Miss Behaving Says:

    Glad it all worked out well.
    How much of the matcha powder did you have to use?
    I never use the stuff myself and it only comes in small packets so I thought maybe you’d just need a pinch but in the pic, it looks like quite a bowlfull.

  6. Karen Says:

    I used 2 tablespoons for about a 1/2 gallon of ice cream. There’s still enough in the package for another batch, I think!

  7. Maureen (Hope's mom) Says:

    Wow! How ambitious! It looks delicious.

  8. Miss Behaving Says:

    It does, now my kids want to know why you make it and not me…guess I will have to try.

  9. Heidi Says:

    I’ve had this at a Japanese restuarant before. It is good.
    My family makes vanilla ice cream regularly. It is fun to have home made.

    However, we do not have the cool Kitchenaid attachment. I have a Donvier which is similar I guess. How do you like it?

    Thanks for your kind comment on Blue’s update post:)

  10. Heidi Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!! !!!!!

  11. Chennette Says:

    Happy Birthday 🙂 Hope all the boys got you great stuff!

  12. Rachelle Says:

    Happy Birthday!!

  13. Lara Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY KAREN!!!! Hope you had a great one with all your boys!

  14. Misty (mason's mom) Says:

    Happy Birthday Lovely! 🙂

  15. Karen Says:

    Thanks for the birthday wishes! I had a wonderful day.

    Heidi: We LOVE our Kitchen Aid mixer! It gets used mainly for bread and pizza dough. The ice cream maker was a separate attachment. It was a little expensive as I recall, but it worked very well for this recipe.

  16. Japanese Ice Cream Recipes Says:

    I love green tea ice cream and yours looks great!
    I have also made green tea ice cream using just ordinary green tea. It isn’t as strong in flavor and my family loves it. Here is my Japanese Green Tea and Soy Sauce Ice Cream Recipe. Yummy.

  17. Michele B Says:

    Hmmm already late and even later because I don’t check your blogs often enough but a very Happy Belated Birthday Karen. And I do have to add how good that ice cream looks…ah ice cream my definite weakness.


Leave a Reply

