Here is our new little guy…

Nathaniel was born on 7/22/08 at 11:52am by C-section.  After lying in a head-down oblique position for 2 weeks, he promptly flipped over to be in a head-up breech position on the morning of his birth, when I went into labor on my own.  He weighed 8 lb 8.7 oz and was 21 1/2 inches long.

He and I are both doing fine, but I feel very sore.  We came home today, and the brothers are all excited.

I always think of Ben as small, but he looks so HUGE next to Nate!  I am sure Nate will catch up to Ben soon.  I hope they’ll be good friends.

I’ll be off work for the next few weeks recuperating and reconnecting with Mark and the kids.  For the next several days, Mark has brought my computer downstairs and made me a bed on the couch.   I must say that the recovery period for a c-section seems a lot longer than for a regular birth…I hope I feel like my old self soon!

22 Responses to “Here is our new little guy…”

  1. Megan Gilbert Says:

    Your new addition is so precious congrats to you and your family!

  2. Sandi Says:

    Congratulations Karen and Mark!! He’s gorgeous…and I love the name 🙂

    I had a c-section with Jess. It does take longer to recuperate. Take care of yourself and hope you are feeling 100% again soon.

  3. Christy Says:

    Congratulations! Nathaniel is beautiful!

    I do have to say that be prepared for a lot of “Are they twins?” questions. I got that a lot when Baylee & Colton were little. It is a little hard to explain, so sometimes it’s nice to just nod and say “yes”. They will be good friends someday. 🙂 Just ask Colton.

  4. Heidi Says:

    Congratulations and welcome to Nathaniel. He is so sweet! What a big boy at 8lb almost 9 ounces!

    I’m wishing you a speedy recovery!

  5. Misty (mason's mom) Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WOW! he is beautiful! i hope that you feel better soon…

    welcome to the world NATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Christine Says:

    Congratulations!! He is very beautiful.

  7. Beth Says:

    Congratulations!! He’s beautiful! I hope you’re feeling better real soon!

  8. Lara Says:

    Congratulations guys!!! He is adorable!!!

    And yes the recovery time for healing from a section is a lot longer than regular birth. I had one regular birth and two sections so I know what I am talking about. Make sure you take it easy (well as much as you can with 4 boys!!!)

  9. Chennette Says:

    Congrats! Nathaniel looks just like his brothers – gorgeous. Hope the recovery goes well 😀

  10. Rhonda Says:

    Congratulations everyone. He is beautiful. My son, Sean, has CdLS. He is 20. I have linked to your site from others I have been on. I also have a 12 year old who was born by C-section and it definitely takes longer to recoup. Take it easy and enjoy your time off with your family.

    Rhonda

  11. Maureen Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS! He’s precious. Enjoy your family time with new edition! Wow!

  12. Maureen Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS! He’s precious. Enjoy your family time with new addition! Wow!

  13. Rhonda Says:

    Thanks for checking out my blog. You can certainly add me to your links. I’m new to all of this so just starting to learn the ropes. I love the double stroller you got. Sean was 7-1/2 when Clayton was born and we had a double stroller. Clayton outgrew it before Sean did! But then Sean took a growing spurt and we had to buy him a new stroller. I am going to add pictures of it soon so please check us out again. Connecting with everyone who has younger CdLS kids is very refreshing for me. I wish I would have had access to something like this 20 years ago. The internet is an amazing thing.
    Have a good weekend.

  14. Leah Says:

    Congratulations!!! What a handsome guy he is too. I love the picture of him next to Ben. What do the boys think of their new brother? My 3rd delivery was a c-section, done under emergency circumstances (long story on my blog of course. LOL) but to be honest, it was easier on me than my other deliveries. I think because she was in NICU and I had 4 little boys at home already, I didn’t really “have time” to be down. Know what I mean? I had to be transferred to another hospital the day I had her, and in order to do that I had to be able to walk and take a shower unassisted. I remember standing there with the water running down me, noticing that I couldn’t even feel my feet yet! Very strange. Anyway, I hope you have a smooth recovery, and that Mark keeps you well fed. Tell him to just stay away from the grill for now. Maybe lots of food ordered out? LOL

  15. Miss Behaving Says:

    Congratulations to you both.
    The new little fella is just gorgeous.
    Wishing you a speedy recovery and looking forward to many more pictures.

  16. ariel Says:

    A big congratulations!!!! nate looks more like you karen…

    The two boys nate and ben looks like a doll together!!!

    You have to recover fast karen, and have a lot of rest okay?

  17. lisa leonard Says:

    what a blessing! i am thrilled for you. hang in there as you recover. big, big hugs!!!

  18. Anne Says:

    Congratulations! And welcome, Nate!

  19. Midlife Slices Says:

    What a beautiful little guy to add to your beautiful family. Glad everyone is o.k. and sorry you had to have a c-section. I had one with my last child too and while the delivery was easier, the recovery was longer but you’ll suddenly feel much better in about 2 weeks. At least I did.
    Congrats!

  20. Dawn Says:

    I hope you are feeling better Karen. I agree with you wholeheartedly, after seeing Nate and Ben together – Nate looks so tiny! Looking forward to meeting him (hopefully) soon.

  21. Sonia Says:

    I am so happy for you! Congrats!! I love his name and he is precious! Take care of yourself while you recover, hope you feel better soon.

  22. Tere Says:

    Congratulations to all the family!
    May God continue to guide and bless you.
    Lots of LOVE and BEST WISHES from all of us–Tere and family in Trinidad


Leave a Reply

