A Birthday and a Surprise Baby Shower

Almost exactly 8 years ago I became the mother of my very first little boy. After 24 hours of gruelling labor, Isaac, my oldest son, was born. My life has never been the same.

I can’t believe that Isaac is 8 already. Mark pointed out that he’s halfway to driving age. I gasped in horror. Surely he can’t be growing up that fast!

These days, Isaac is into anything Pokemon or anything having to do with playing video games. He enjoys playing the piano, and surprisingly also likes doing any kind of craft project. He is very loving and caring toward Ben (but of course he and Jonathan have their typical sibling spats.)

On Friday night we had a couple of Isaac’s friends over for a sleepover to help him celebrate. All the big boys had a great time and (except for Jonathan) were up until 1:00 am despite all my threats! They still managed to wake up at 7:00 am as usual. Isaac was very patient – he didn’t get to open presents until this evening! And one of his parents went overboard and bought WAY too much stuff. I won’t say who…

I am approaching the end of my pregnancy with my fourth little boy. Little Boy #4 was lying at an oblique angle at our last checkup on Friday. This Thursday, we are planning to try to get him into a better position, and hopefully induce labor on Friday. If he remains in his oblique position, I’ll need a c-section, which I’ve not had with any of my previous 3 kids. We are hoping and praying for the best.

Our church threw us a surprise baby shower this afternoon! I never expected such a thing. After all, what could one possibly need for a fourth son? Well, here it is!

We really needed a double stroller since Ben is nowhere close to being able to walk on his own. So they bought us one! What a blessing! We are so grateful. We had a great evening spending time with our friends and their families. The big boys spent most of the time in the big wading pool.

It was too hot outside for Ben who was quite content to play (and sleep) indoors.

So we really had a very enjoyable weekend. And who knows – it might be our last one with only 3 boys!

6 Responses to “A Birthday and a Surprise Baby Shower”

  1. Leah Says:

    Happy birthday to Isaac! It’s amazing how fast they grow, isn’t it? Really, I’m not much older than you, and yet my oldest just turned 21. I’ve taught three to drive (though only two do, the other doesn’t want a lisence. :-0 and another was taught by his dad.) and lived to tell about it. Very scary. Now the baby is just 11 months short of being a teenager herself. Wow…where did MY years go? Suddenly I don’t feel 30 anymore. (ok, so I’m not!)

    The stroller is FANTASTIC! I’m so excited for you!

  2. Miss Behaving Says:

    Just one month between Isaac and my son ‘ Jim’.
    It is so scary how quickly they grow up, how independent they become. I feel it so hard cos ‘ Jim’ is my youngest,
    my baby!!!
    Looks like Isaac had a great birthday, Happy Birthday Isaac, and that double stroller looks awesome.

  3. Misty (mason's mom) Says:

    LOVE THAT RED DOUBLE STROLLER!!!!!!!!!!! what a nice surprise and great friends!

    happy birthday to Isaac!!!!!!!!!

    we need a belly shot of baby boy! 🙂 thinking of you and can’t wait to hear about his debut into the world!!

  4. Sandi Says:

    Happy Birthday Isaac!! They do grow up fast…seems like Amanda was 8 just yesterday and now she’s driving.

    That’s an awesome stroller, what a great surprise!

    I’ll be thinking about you this week. Looking forward to the announcement of baby boy #4…can’t wait to see what name you picked as I somehow doubt “Gryll Marx” will be an option, LOL 😉

  5. Maureen Says:

    I can’t believe Baby No. 4 is almost here! (I’m sure you can — it’s hard being pregnant during the summer, isn’t it?)

    I’m thinking of you and hoping your little one cooperates so a c-section isn’t required.

    Hang in there! You’re almost there! I hope all goes well!

  6. Beth Says:

    Happy birthday Isaac! He sounds so much like my son who just turned 9. Anything pokemon or video games.

    That double stroller will certainly come in handy. What a great surprise!

    I hope things go well for you this weekend and delivery is quick and easy.


Leave a Reply

