Giveaway: I Can’t Believe I Never Knew These Existed!

I love iced tea. The only problem is that I didn’t have a good place to make 1-3 servings of it at a time. We do own an old-fashioned kettle, but it’s too big to be practical. I used to use a small pitcher (think: one of those receptacles for holding your cream for coffee), but Mark accidentally broke it. Since then, I had been managing the best I can using coffee mugs and the microwave, and I usually ended up with a big mess since mugs don’t pour well into iced tea glasses.

But not anymore! About a week and a half ago, I was online looking for a recipe for green tea ice cream (if you’ve never had it, it’s GREAT!) I need something called “matcha powder” to be able to make some at home. I found a couple of websites that sell different teas, and that’s when I found this!

It’s called an “IngenuiTEA”. It works great with both tea bags and loose leaf tea. It comes in a small 16 oz size, and a larger 32 oz size. It’s microwave and dishwasher safe! After about 15 minutes, I realized I had to have one. I ordered the 32 oz one along with a 40 oz glass pitcher to make that iced tea I mentioned before. It arrived in 2 days!!! Here’s a demonstration of how it works; I am brewing a pitcher of my favorite organic Red Rooibos loose leaf tea:

The result is a perfect pitcher of iced tea, and all the loose tea leaves are left behind in the IngenuiTEA. It’s very easy to clean – it has a filter that pops out quite easily. I’ve been drinking lots more tea lately! Even Isaac likes it (but I never give him anything that’s caffeinated, of course). Jonny’s not such a big fan of tea.

So I’m giving one of these away. If you are interested, leave a comment. You can tell me about a gadget you can’t live without, share a good recipe you’ve made recently (maybe one for green tea ice cream?), or perhaps an idea to keep kids occupied over the summer. The winner will be chosen at random, and will get to pick what size tea maker s/he would like. Good luck!

24 Responses to “Giveaway: I Can’t Believe I Never Knew These Existed!”

  1. Mary Jenkins Says:

    i’ve never seen this either, but it would nice to make some iced lemon chammomile tea this summer! My fave gadget is the sandwich griller my bro-in-law gave me! makes great party food!

  2. Michele P. Says:

    What I can’t live without? Well, there are lots of things, but I cannot live without my food processor when I am chopping onions. I am so sensitive to chopped onions I would be crying for hours if I didn’t have a quick and easy way to fix things. My son and husband love to drink ice tea, and I have never seen this before, what a great idea!

  3. Karin A Says:

    microwave– I can remember not having one–so this is one item I can’t live without!

  4. Hil'Lesha Says:

    This is even cooler than tea steeping mug I have and I thought that was the coolest thing! ~lol~ 🙂

  5. Nicole (SAHM Ramblings) Says:

    I used to sell Pampered Chef so I have a ton of kitchen gadgets. Whenever we have a yard sale, I sift through all the stuff I don’t use and get rid of it, but no matter how seldom I use a KITCHEN gadget, I can’t seem to get rid of it! My favorite… that’s a toughie. I would have to say right now it’s the sandwich crimper thing for making crustless sandwiches for the kids. THEY love it so I love it! 🙂

    But I love iced tea, so this one would find a nice place in my home!

  6. Mom/Grandma Says:

    You didn’t say if family was disqualified from entering.hehe

  7. Rachel Says:

    Well, the only gadget I can’t live without right now is the one no one can live without,the coffee maker! My family drink tons of coffee.Hey,we are from the south so we don’t go without iced tea either.

  8. Wanda Says:

    I recently made this:
    http://www.elise.com/recipes/archives/001998parmesan_chicken.php

    A delicious parmesan chicken recipe for myself, son and husband. They are both very picky eaters and they loved this.. I loved it as well and will definitley be making it again! Would love to know if you all try it and enjoy it!

  9. Elizabeth M. Says:

    The gadget I couldn’t do without is my pizza cutter. I use it all the time and not just for pizza. We use it to cut biscuit dough or cookie dough into shapes like triangles, squares, etc. We even have an old one which the kids and I use with paint for making homemade wrapping paper.

    The IngenuiTEA looks wonderful. The convenience and ease of use alone make it well worth having. Thanks for the giveaway.

  10. Kam A Says:

    The gadget I can’t do without is definitely my microwave! Ours went out a few months ago and I guess I never realized just how much I used it to heat up things! The IngenuiTEA looks like a great product- we drink iced tea on a regular basis and would definitely put this to good use!

  11. tangie c Says:

    Well, to keep kids occupied over the summer, I collect word searches, puzzles, coloring pages, etc. that I come across at work or find online through the year and then I make each of my boys (well, not the baby yet) a little folder with lots of these things inside. For each boy I try to make it be filled with activities I think are geared towards his individual interestes and topics he likes. thanks for the contest! I love making tea!!

  12. Heidi Says:

    Cool gadget! It is a nice looking pitcher too.

    I just went to Michael’s and bought a 1/2 gallon mason jar and throw some teabags in it and set it out in the sun. That works for me.

    However, I don’t have that nifty kind of tea you have…

  13. Leah Says:

    Since I am very much like Mark, and am prone to ruining dinner, I’m not very good at using the kitchen gadgets. Seriously, my husband DRAGGED me to a pampered chef party thing, and I was so bored the whole evening (but had lots of comments to make about how easy they made it look AND how tasty the food was when done. LOL) However, I DO drink tea, and this thingy looks AWESOME! As for fun stuff for the kids in summer, I do adventure Wednesdays, (now changed to Thursdays do to scheduling issues) Here’s a link to my post about it.
    http://gardenofeagan.blogspot.com/2008/06/adventure-wednesdays.html

  14. Womens Health and Beauty Says:

    That looks like a neat device.

    hmm.. I could try chrysanthemum flower tea with it.

    since I use to loath the messy leaves floating about…

    well, just hope it doesn’t chock the outlet and it should work fine.

  15. abrianna Says:

    The gadget I can’t live without would be my blender-especially know that it’s summer. I use it almost every day now and sometimes twice a day for smoothies, blueberyy challah, and other things.

  16. veganverve Says:

    How neat! My boyfriend loves iced tea, this would be great for him! The gadget that I cannot live without is my food processor…I use it for everything, well mostly….I still chop a lot of veggies by hand. And I don’t know what your kids are into, but flying kites, bike riding, finger paints, puzzles, starting a collection of some kind and board games were always favorite activities of mine!

  17. playingmanyparts Says:

    Hello. . .my favorite gadget, especially in the summer is my blender. I LOVE smoothies. I even put green tea in them sometimes. Put any berries, keifer (liquid yogurt), juice or tea, ice and a bit of honey in the blender and you have a great lunch. I have found that if I add some whey protein, I can even get by with this for dinner for myself and my daughter.

  18. Midlife Slices Says:

    The best and easiest strawberry blueberry dessert.
    http://midlifeslices.wordpress.com/2008/07/03/its-a-sign/

  19. Lara Says:

    I love tea and Rooibos Vanilla is one of my favourites! That gadget looks way cool and I love kitchen gadgets. I have lots of them but I think one of the ones I would not want to be without are my microplane graters. I have two, one that is fine and one that is coarse…the fine one is perfect for zesting limes, lemons oranges etc… I love using zest of any kind in my baking and cooking. Another kitchen tool I love and could not do without is my immersion blender…so convenient.

    As for recipes…. here is a link to a recipe for a Strawberry Rhubarb Sour Cream Streusel Coffee Cake I made recently and will be making again later today.

    http://www.canadianliving.com/food/strawberry_rhubarb_sour_cream_streusel_coffee_cake.php

    I took the boys strawberry picking twice within the last three weeks and did not want to make jam so I baked instead. This cake is so moist, everyone loved it and it came together quickly and easily, this is a MUST TRY RECIPE!

    Oh and here is a recipe for green tea ice cream…

    http://www.foodtv.ca/recipes/recipedetails.aspx?dishid=4019

    I have not tried it myself but Anna’s recipes are always great. I have made her French Vanilla Ice cream and it was like eating Haagen Daaz only better!!! My husband loved it.

  20. Maria Says:

    This is awesome. I am the only tea drinker in my family, and never get enough cause I have to make my own little one and….

    My fav kitchen gadget (well, besides my newest), is my garlic pro, best way to make TONS of diced garlic without touching it. http://www.ashtongreen.com/product.dhtml?pres=C154_1

    Oh, or anything else on ashtongreen. I want it ALL! 😉

  21. Tammy and Parker Says:

    This is too awesome. I love herbal tea!

    Recipe:

    Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

    Notes: I like the Vanilla Wafers better – use regular and chocolate flavors and it’s even better if you can find the dipper versions. I’ve used light cream cheese, light butter, and Splenda brown sugar to lighten it up in the past few years. It’s like a mix between cheese cake and chocolate chip cookie dough – yum. I usually roll it in the pecans, wrap again in saran, and put it in the refrigerator until I’m ready to serve it.

    8 oz. package of cream cheese, softened
    ½ cup butter (no substitutes) softened
    ¼ tsp. vanilla extract
    ¾ c. confectioners sugar
    2 Tbsp. brown sugar
    ¾ c. miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips
    ¾ cup finely chopped pecans
    Graham crackers or Vanilla Wafers

    In a mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese, butter, and vanilla until fluffy. Gradually add sugars; beat just until combined. Stir in chocolate chips. Cover and refrigerate for 2 hours. Place cream cheese mixture on a large piece of plastic wrap; shape into a ball. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour. Just before serving, roll cheese ball in pecans. Serve with graham crackers or Nilla Wafers.

  22. Janice M. Says:

    Hi, I’ve been a lurker for some time (have an old friend whose son has CdLS and found your blog when doing some research online). Anyway, I love this iced tea maker gadget! I have a Mr. Coffee Iced Tea Maker, but it’s not very practical for work. The small size ingenuiTea would be perfect for making tea at my desk!

    So, my recent favorite gadget is the BugBam bracelet (www.bugbam.com). They are DEET-free, and they really do work to keep the mosquitoes away! I have two young kids who spend most of the day outside while at summer camp, and this is perfect for keeping them bite-free. The bracelets do smell VERY strongly of citronella, but it’s definitely worth it.

  23. Miss Behaving Says:

    My kids love matcha ice cream but it does nothing for me.
    I would be happy to send you some matcha powder if you’d like.

  24. Karen Says:

    Very cool recipes and ideas, everyone! Thanks for playing!
    Miss Behaving – I just might take you up on that Matcha Powder offer!
    😉


Leave a Reply

