I Love Having Boys

Today we finally had a break from the cold, damp weather.  It was almost 70 degrees!  Mark was out practicing his bass, and so I was home all alone with my three boys this evening.  The older two were driving me CRAZY indoors with their seemingly boundless energy, so I banished them to our (tiny) yard.

The big boys outside

I think Isaac forgot what warm weather was like.  He came outside hesitantly when I told him he didn’t need a jacket.  He broke into a huge smile and said, “Wow, it’s room temperature out here!”

I took these photos and then brought Ben out with me to watch them play.  I hope one day he’ll be able to run and play with his brothers.

The chase
Isaac cartwheelJonny lying on grassWrestling

They had so much fun!  They raced, they chased each other, they wrestled, they jumped, they brought out plastic weapons and had duels.   Then it was bathtime and bedtime, and they promptly fell asleep – they were so tired out.

It’s so wonderful to have little boys, and I am so glad that our fourth child is also a little boy.  Of one thing I am certain: by the the time Little Boy #4 is able to run and play, we need to have a bigger yard!

🙂

Posted in Kids. 7 Comments »

7 Responses to “I Love Having Boys”

  1. Sonia Says:

    Great action shots! I’m glad the weather is getting warmer. And a 4th little boy!!! That is awsome!!! I would love to have a little boy someday…

  2. Misty (mason's mom) Says:

    Another little boy!! i have to agree that boys are GREAT! i am hoping that one day soon i can add another little boy to my fam… i want mason to have someone close in age!! we’ll see how things go in the next year or two. i am so happy for you and your BOYS!! Glad you had some beautiful weather to enjoy! i hope it lasts for you!

  3. lisa leonard Says:

    I love boys! Give it time and Ben will be in there with them. David got pushed around by some friends last night and loved being part of the action. Ben will always be your baby, and what a blessing that he will have a ‘little’ brother. I think we are going to have to add a tag to your necklace.

  4. Lara Says:

    Another boy…wow!!! I have to agree though… I love having boys as well… still miss my little angel Caitlin but could not imagine life without my two monkeys!

  5. Karen Says:

    Thanks, Sonia! I will be soooo outnumbered in this house with all of these boys!

    Good luck, Misty! I am sure Mason would like a little brother.

    Lisa – thanks for the encouragement. It’s been so exciting to see David’s progress on your blog. You know, I was just telling Mark the very same thing about needing a new tag for the necklace!

    Lara – boys definitely make life interesting, but I am sure your little girl Caitlin will always have a special place in your heart.

  6. Wanessa Says:

    YOU FAMILY IS BEAUTIFUL…

  7. Michele B Says:

    I agree you’ll need a bigger yard…and one near (in?) North G. would be ideal. Smile.


Leave a Reply

