I Love My Spoon!

Ben Spoon 1

Yes, I know it’s been a long time since I updated this blog, but we’ve been so busy lately.

Ben has been doing GREAT with grasping toys and other objects. He especially loves board books and newspapers. He is a big fan of those full-color advertising fliers that come in the Sunday papers.

Lately, we’ve been doing something new at the dinner table – giving Ben his own spoon to hold with some food on it. He doesn’t seem to be too impressed with baby food these days, so in these photos he’s enjoying some of Mark’s homemade spaghetti sauce (I know, I know, not very reflux-friendly, but Ben’s Nissen fundoplication is still holding up well!)

Ben spoon 2

With a little encouragement he will now bring the spoon to his mouth and lick the spoon. Tonight he had some homemade potato and mushroom soup which he also seemed to enjoy.

Ben spoon 3

Getting Ben to transition to oral feeds has been a lot harder than we ever expected. I’ve found that we have to go at his pace, not ours, although we do have to be consistent and at least attempt oral feeds every day. Hopefully we’ll get there one day.

3 Responses to “I Love My Spoon!”

  1. Misty (mason's mom) Says:

    that is too adorable for words!! his little spoonie!! Mason reminds me so much of Ben…. Oral feeding is going to be a big nightmare for us..it already has been!! be prepared for lots of questions from me in the coming months LOL (hope you won’t mind)!! our dietician and OT are planning out how we’re going to go about the whole thing…. please give little Ben a squeeze for me and Mason k!! hooray for the spoon!

  2. ariel Says:

    What a wonderful sight to see our cute ben holdin his spoon! Lovely! and so adorable!

    also a little request, could you give my adorable ben a big hugs for me please?

    thank you so much!

  3. lisa leonard Says:

    That is so exciting. I know just what you mean about going at Ben’s peace. David will not be pushed, put when he’s ready, he’ll jump on his own. Have I told you lately that Ben reminds me so much of David? I feel like our families are so closely connected. I have such an affection for you all and pray for you often. Hugs!


Leave a Reply

