New Year Popovers

Popovers

Happy New Year!

We had yet another boring relaxing day at home. Mark made us a delicious roast beef tenderloin for dinner which we ate with green beans and rice pilaf. I didn’t want to make bread today because I felt lazy tired, so I looked through my trusty “Joy of Cooking” for an alternative – something we could eat with butter and honey that wouldn’t take hours to make. I found a recipe for popovers, and we made some. I’ve only had these once before when I was a very young child. They had an interesting taste and texture reminiscent of French toast. We all liked them (Isaac asked for seconds) and we’ll definitely make them again.

I haven’t really thought of too many resolutions for the new year except for one: I’d like to worry less about the future. Anyone else have any resolutions they’d like to share?

If you are interested in having the popover recipe, click below:

POPOVERS (From Joy of Cooking, 1995 edition)

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Butter muffin or popover tins, or custard cups. Beat just until smooth:

1 cup milk

1 tablespoon melted butter

1 cup sifted all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp salt

Add, one at a time, but do not overbeat:

2 beaten eggs

The batter should be no heavier than whipping cream. Fill buttered muffin or popover tins (we used custard cups) no more than 3/4 full (I think ours were only 1/2 full). Do not overfill or popovers will have a muffinlike texture. Bake for 15 minutes in a 450 degree oven, and then lower the heat to 350 degrees (do not open oven). Bake for another 20 minutes or until done.

To check for doneness, remove a popover to make sure walls are firm. If not cooked long enough, the popovers will collapse. After baking, you can insert a sharp paring knife gently into the other popovers to allow steam to escape.

(The original recipe said it would make 9, but since our custard cups were fairly large, we only got 6).

8 Responses to “New Year Popovers”

  1. chennette Says:

    this reminds me of yorkshire puddings?

  2. chennette Says:

    Happy New Year to you and your family 🙂 not that the food distracted me or anything 😉

  3. Karen Says:

    Yes, Chennette, an American version of Yorkshire puddings! Since we live in the U.S. we’d only heard of Yorkshire pudding on “Ramsay’s Kitchen Nightmares”, but when I looked up the Wikipedia entry on popovers, they mentioned that the two are very similar.

  4. james Says:

    They are called yorkshire puddings, leave it at that. Why do you americans have to rename everything to something lame.

    james

  5. lisa leonard Says:

    I don’t want to do the same old resolutions (lose weight, blah, blah). But I NEED to get more organized.

  6. millicent56 Says:

    Less to worry is a good one!
    My resolution is to brave and be strong in my ownself!
    Meanwhile, this is also another little resolution to do something that I alwys wanted to, please support me by checking out this website :http://mypollyourvote.wordpress.com/
    Thanks
    Bluewood!

  7. Miss Behaving Says:

    Happy New Year to you and the family.
    Resolutions as above, lose weight ( blah blah) get more organised, enjoy the moment more.

  8. Karen Says:

    Happy New Year to everyone!
    And James: 1. I am not American and 2. Personally, I think “popovers” is a far more descriptive term than “Yorkshire pudding” – it’s not even a pudding!


Leave a Reply

