Guess who finally goes in the pool?

Jonny pool

Jonny, that’s who!  This semester he did great during his preschool swimming lessons.  Mark got in the pool with him for the first month or so, while the nice ladies at the YMCA childcare took care of Ben (who was never there long enough to require his tube feeds).  Since then, he’s been getting into the pool with his teachers and the rest of his class.  Mark usually  attends the sessions, but no longer gets in the pool with him.  He’s definitely not one of the more daring kids, but he’s come a long way!  We are so proud of him.

Jonny and Ben in crib

Jonny still loves to bother Ben.  He will often get into Ben’s crib, no matter how many times we tell him not to!  Ben usually doesn’t mind unless Jonny doesn’t leave his little arm alone (like in the photo above – I think Ben was getting tired of all the extra attention).  Occasionally I’ll find all 3 boys in the crib at the same time.

Lately Jonny has been more interested in pretending and playing quietly with his toys.  Mark has been thrilled!  This morning he asked for Legos, and all week he’s been playing with his knights and castles.

Jonny Legos Jonny castle

Jonny is becoming such a big boy!

Posted in Kids. Tags: . 9 Comments »

9 Responses to “Guess who finally goes in the pool?”

  1. Granpa Says:

    Hey: that’s great news. Both from the point-of-view of Jonny being such a big boy (WTG, Jonny! Swimming is FUN!, isn’t it?), and also because his Grandfather, at 57 yrs, has really just started beginning to swim too! So I guess I will apply for membership in the YMCA (ignoring the fact of what word the “Y” in that name signifies!), and I’ll be continuing my swimming lessons and exercises in the lovely heated pool.
    I’m making the logical assumption of course that the pool IS heated: none of those Arctic Plunges for THIS tropical Granpa – not just yet anyway…. and I’m sure my daughter would not be making my grandsons swim in cold water, anyway. 😉

  2. Anne Says:

    Good for you, Jonny! Way to go!

  3. mark - in my own defense Says:

    Dear Grandpa:

    Um, I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I swam in that pool twice a week for a month back in September and it’s COLD!!! There is a second pool behind that one that is heated better. I think.

  4. Mom/grandma Says:

    Its funny that we use heated pools in the tropics and would hardly ever go into one that is not heated. That must be laughable from where you stand……….hehe. No cold water for me, I can tell you that.

  5. Dawn Says:

    Way to go, Jonny! He looks so proud of himself (and rightly so).

  6. Lawrence Says:

    Ammm….Ammmm….Ammmmm…..I need company?

    You mean we (by we I mean Rhoda), might not hear this on our next visit? :-0

    Oh dear! What will Auntie Rhoda do?

  7. Aliyah Says:

    Mummy and Daddy: speak for yourselves! I always swam in unheated pools when I went to swimming lessons at school, and at camp in the YMCA. Heated pools in the Caribbean are unsustainable and unnecessary, anyway.

  8. mark - in my own defense Says:

    Aliyah, we’ve had enough family drama this year, thank you!

  9. Mom/grandma Says:

    Thank you Mark….


Leave a Reply

