Shots, and a new computer

Sick Ben 

Ben isn’t feeling well.

We’d received word months ago that our insurance company had turned us down for Synagis for this RSV season.  We didn’t really bother to challenge their decision.  Ben is usually a very healthy little guy, and doesn’t have chronic heart or lung disease.  So imagine our surprise when we got a phone call late last week from our pediatrician’s office – he had called personally and talked to our insurance company, and they approved it.  What a wonderful doctor he is.  So poor Ben got two shots today: his first Synagis shot, and a flu vaccine.

They gave him the shots in his right leg.  That made him cranky all day, since one of his favorite things to do is to play with his right foot with his left hand and he couldn’t lift the leg up at all because it was so sore.  He also seems to be running a low-grade fever tonight, although his arms are freezing.  He’s not tolerating his usual tube feed volumes, and he whimpers softly every 30 minutes or so.  We just gave him some Tylenol.

Poor little guy.  I hope he bounces back tomorrow.

 Old laptop

In other news, our almost 5 year old Dell laptop finally died after giving us about 9 months’ warning.  The hard drive would work intermittently, and then yesterday it just didn’t anymore.  Fortunately, we had just backed up our digital photos, so we only lost a few.  Mark (with some advice from Lawrence the computer expert) bought me a brand new Toshiba laptop today.  So far I like it OK, although it has a wide screen which seems a little weird to me at the moment.  The battery on this one actually works, so I will be able to use it in different areas of the house rather than being tied to the upstairs desk.  How will I get used to such freedom??

New laptop

We are keeping the old laptop, and replacing the hard drive.  We figure the kids can use it – other than the hard drive, it still works.  We’re still in the market for a new desktop.  The dinosaur that we’re using downstairs is even older than my laptop was – it is currently almost 7 years old.  Mark wants to buy an iMac.  We’d better start saving now.

9 Responses to “Shots, and a new computer”

  1. Christine Says:

    I love that your ped. called the medical director of your insurance co. and got Ben approved. Sounds like he/she is a good doc that cares about his patients!! Ben is one lucky little guy.

    My boys were approved for Synagis surprisingly. Our ped told us that they probably wouldnt qualify although one might. She called me personally two weeks ago to tell me that they were all approved. I was so shocked. We start next week. Oh joy for them! 🙂

    I hope that Ben feels better. I give my boys Tylenol around the clock for the first 24 hours after Synagis. It seems to help.

  2. Anne Says:

    I hope Ben feels better soon! Poor guy!

  3. Sonia Says:

    Oh my goodness! I’m sorry to hear Ben’s not feeling well 😦 Hope he bounces back quickly. Natalia’s never gotten Synagis… I’m calling her ped this very instant!
    A new laptop is on my wish list too, ours is 5 years old, which in computer years makes it practically obsolete, but first I have to get a new camera.

  4. Sandi Says:

    I hope Ben is feeling better soon! Poor little guy 😦 Glad your ped called and he was able to get the shot though.

    Keep us posted on how you like your new laptop. I’d love to get one in the next year or so. My desktop is nearly 4 years old…so -fingers crossed- it will last a bit longer. Crazy how fast they become obsolete!

  5. Mom/grandma Says:

    I am so sorry to hear about Ben and I hope He feels better soon. I hope I didn’t contribute to the demise of your puter……:-(

  6. Karen Says:

    Ben is definitely back to his normal happy self. Tylenol helped, and his mood improved once he could play with his foot again!

    Mom: no, you had nothing to do with the computer’s demise. It was on its way out long before you even visited.

    Sonia: how did you make out with getting the Synagis? This is the second RSV season that Ben’s had it.

    Christine: good luck with your Synagis season! I’m sure it will be fun in your household with 3 cranky little guys all at once! We do have a wonderful pediatrician, and we are lucky. 🙂

  7. Bennie Says:

    We are convinced Synagis is responsible for keeping our Ben healthier once he got the vaccine. He actually got it from age 2 to age 5. For those that don’t know one shot costs around $1200 – $1500. But considering one of our Ben’s hospital stays due to RSV costing our insurance company about $250,000 I think it was a wise investment for them.

  8. cdls Says:

    Hey, I have that Inspiron laptop, too! It’s still going, but I’ve replaced the hard drive twice. I just wanted to tell you it’s super easy to replace the hard drive….it just slips in the front with the quick removal of a screw and then a reinstall of Windows from your CDs that came with the puter. I got the new hard drives both from Ebay for less than $50 and they have been both progressively bigger and faster. In any case, with minimal effort your boys could have a great new laptop with just a new hard drive. We are saving for a new iMac, too…I’m really tiring of this old Dell, but like a Timex and some new hard drives now and then, the thing keeps tickin’!

  9. Karen Says:

    We did replace the hard drive in the old Inspiron, and it’s working fine again. Mark is using it as his new blogging computer!


Leave a Reply

