Last Soccer Game!

Last Day Soccer

This fall was the first time that we’ve been very involved with AYSO.  Isaac and Jonny both played soccer (on different teams since they are 3 years apart in age), and Mark coached Isaac’s team.  I’ve never been to so many soccer games and practices in my life, and to my surprise, I really enjoyed it.  Isaac and Jonny learned about good sportsmanship and teamwork, got some much-needed exercise, Mark enjoyed working with the kids, and Ben and I enjoyed the fresh air and sunshine (we were blessed with good weather most of the time).  It was especially amusing to watch Jonny’s Under-6 team.  Kids that age are just so cute when they play soccer!

Isaac’s last game was alot of fun.  It was a sunny 60 degrees, not too cold.  The kids played hard, and the game was tied at 6 goals apiece.  We went to our sponsor’s restaurant where we were treated to some excellent Mexican food – a great end to the season.

We have signed up for the spring season already.  I can’t wait for spring!

One Response to “Last Soccer Game!”

  1. Joy Says:

    Dear Karen,

    How are you? I’m a Speech Language Pathology student residing in Sydney! I chanced upon your website while looking up information for an assignment. I’m unfamiliar with the area of developmental disability. I appreciate how you’ve given me (& the rest of your readers) a very insightful, personal perspective of a mother who has a child with CDLS. It also broadens my understanding of the non-clinical aspects of a situation, e.g. siblings, difficulty choosing clothes. Coincidentally, my next clinical placement, which starts next Monday, is an ‘adults with developmental disability’ caseload. The issues they face, and the issues their communicative partners & carers face, will certainly be different from what you’ve been experiencing. Nevertheless, thank you & enjoy the autumn weather. We’ve been embracing the warmer summer sunshine down under!

    Hope to hear from you soon! God bless you & your family!

    Joy


Leave a Reply

