It’s Been a Good Year…

Pumpkin patch 1 

Today was my one year blogiversary.  How time flies!  When I first started this blog, Ben was only 5 months old and 9 lbs, and had just had his Nissen fundoplication/g-tube surgery.  We were still reeling from the shock of having a new baby who had so many medical and developmental issues.  I started this blog mainly to keep in touch with friends and extended family.  I also hoped it would help me remember to be thankful for all the happy, funny and silly times that we have, even though life is difficult sometimes.  I think blogging has definitely helped, and it has been therapeutic for me.  Best of all, I have met so many other awesome people who are also sharing their stories online, and that has helped me alot on my journey.   

Pumpkin patch 2 

We’ve been busy lately.  My Mom is paying us a visit all the way from Trinidad, and the boys have ALL been very excited to have her here.   Isaac is thrilled that she enjoys hearing him play his Legend of Zelda piano solos, and Jonny has someone else to bother since Auntie Rhoda isn’t here anymore.  And Ben enjoys having someone else to spoil him.

Last weekend we went to the pumpkin patch.  The weather was actually not too cold, so Ben didn’t mind at all this year, and actually enjoyed being in the stroller.  The older two had a great time (Isaac is still wearing his soccer uniform from the morning’s game).

Pumpkin patch 3 

We did carve the pumpkins, but perhaps we did this a little too early.  We had 70 degree weather and rain all week, so I fear the pumpkins will be nothing but mush by the time Halloween rolls around!

Pumpkin patch 4

8 Responses to “It’s Been a Good Year…”

  1. chennette Says:

    Hey! Congrats on the blogiversary!
    These pictures are really great – love the 2nd one especially.

  2. Lawrence Says:

    Happy Blogiversary. May your blog live to 100! 😉
    Nice pics of the boys; How I wish I was there too. Oh well, maybe for Christmas.

  3. Sandi Says:

    Congratulations on your 1 year blogiversary Karen!! Love the pumpkin patch photos 🙂

  4. Sonia Says:

    WOW, congratulations Karen!!! Blogging requires time… but it’s definitely therapeutic. Love the picture with the hay stacks.

  5. Lisa Leonard Says:

    I didn’t realize you had only been blogging a year–you must be a natural! It’s been great connecting with you online and I hope our families get to met sometime! I love your blog so keep it up! Looks like a great day at the pumpkin patch.

  6. larabh Says:

    Hey Karen…. good for you… me on the other hand… I think that I am not devoted to the blogging so I might just accept it and end my blog.

    I must admit…I am more of a message board/chat person and that is what got me through my time when Matthew was in the hospital for three months after birth.

    We each find what works for us, I guess.

    Cheers!!!

  7. tom Says:

    Alright! Great job hitting the big one year mark. Great pictures…

  8. Karen Says:

    Thanks, everyone.


Leave a Reply

