Warm Winter Clothes

All shopped out

Two weekends ago, while we were in Pittsburgh, we had a chance to leave our two older sons with their aunt, uncle and cousins.  We were therefore able to take Ben to a REAL mall to get some new clothes for the fall and winter without hearing “I’m bored!” and “Can you buy me a video game?” every five minutes.  Ben actually fell asleep halfway through, and didn’t care what I tried on him.

I don’t usually care much about clothes, but both Mark and I feel that we should try to dress Ben as nicely as possible.  It isn’t always easy.  We have a couple of issues:

  1. Ben has a MIC-KEY button for feeding, and so each article of clothing should allow easy access to his abdomen.  That means it either has to have snaps all the way down, or it needs to be a two-piece outfit, and the shirt can’t be a onesie that snaps at the crotch.
  2. Ben has a congenital malformation of the right arm (which the CdLS Foundation diplomatically refers to as a “limb difference”, and should not be confused with a “deformation“).  He isn’t able to extend the right elbow at all, and the entire right arm is much shorter than the left.
  3. In general, boy clothes aren’t as cute as girl clothes.

The first issue is relatively easy to address, although it can be challenging to find non-onesie shirts for kids under a 24 month size.  (Ben is currently in 3-6 mo or 6-9 mo clothes, depending on the manufacturer).  We found lots of  front-snap sleepers for bedtime, and we did manage to find quite a few nice two-piece outfits.

Two piece outfits

The second issue has proved to be a lot more difficult to manage.  We have tried rolling up the long sleeve on the right arm, but it gets bulky and uncomfortable for Ben, and he isn’t able to move the entire arm well at all.  What we really need is a short sleeve on the right arm, except for sweaters and outerwear.  

Anybody know a good seamstress?

So, some of the shirts that we bought Ben will need to be altered (by someone other than me!  We’ll probably have to take them to a seamstress).

We got lucky with these shirts.  The sleeves are in two parts, so we can alter them ourselves with some pinking shears:

Brown outfit we can fix ourselvesSleeves we can fix ourselvesPants

Here’s how we do it:

Cut sleeveMuch better now

I think we did a good job of resolving the third issue.  We got the clothes from Target, Baby Gap, Gymboree and Kohl’s.  Of course, Mark did buy one outfit for Ben (when I wasn’t even around) which disregarded just about everything I’ve just written about here!

This was ALL DADDY

10 Responses to “Warm Winter Clothes”

  1. mark - in my own defense Says:

    He’s very cute in that outfit, thank you, and he’s very happy to support the team. It’s probably why they’ve been winning.

  2. Christine Says:

    Old Navy has a lot of two part sleeved shirts. They are very cute! I dont know if you have on in your town but their website is good with sales.
    He looks great in his Halloween shirt! Its too warm here for long sleeved shirts but I cant wait to get them on my boys. I love Halloween!!!

  3. Karen Says:

    We meant to go to Old Navy, but the mall we visited didn’t have one yet! There were lots of “coming soon” signs, though, so perhaps the next time we go shopping there it will be open.

  4. Lisa Leonard Says:

    That is one fashionable kiddo! We have the same issues with the smaller arm. My mother-in-law knitted a couple darling sweaters for David with a smaller sleeve on the left side. They look funny on a hanger, but great on!! Ben is so cute in that hat!

  5. Sonia Says:

    oh, I love Ben’s new wardrobe! What a great alteration idea, Ben looks nice & comfy in his “boo” shirt. Since it’s also getting chilly here, I just bought Natalia her winter wardrobe as well. She’s a size 3-6 or 6-9 too!!
    Oh! and Natalia has a SD Charger outfit… hehehe, courtesy of her Grandpa 😉

  6. Karen Says:

    Lisa: how thoughtful of your mother-in-law to knit David a custom-made sweater to fit his little arm. What an awesome gift. I had to buy Ben that hat even though it doesn’t match with anything we have…yet!
    Sonia: I’d love to see Natalia’s wardrobe since I mentioned how much cuter girl clothes were than boy clothes.
    🙂

  7. Sandi Says:

    Ben has got to be the best-dressed kid in town. Those outfits are adorable!! You’ll have to post pictures every time he models one Karen. He looks so sweet in his Halloween shirt, I swear he’s got the cutest little feet I’ve ever seen 🙂

  8. Sonia Says:

    What a great idea Karen! I’ll definitely post Natalia’s winter wardrobe as soon as I get a camera… I lost our old one. 😦

  9. Jennifer Says:

    I found this blog looking for pictures of the mic-key button. How weird though, my 2 year old daughter who has CDLS just got a feeding tube, and will get a button in a few weeks. No real point to this message, just thought it was funny I ended up here.

  10. Noah Says:

    Thank you so much for blogging about Ben. My newborn son was just diagnosed with CdLS and has both upper arm limb differences. We were very much wondering what kind of clothes to get him and it is great to take advantage of someone’s experience. Will be visiting your blog more in the future! Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

