My Boys

I am hopelessly outnumbered!

Here are Mark, Isaac and Jonathan getting their photos taken for soccer this evening.  Mark is coaching Isaac’s team this year.  We finally found out that Jonny’s uniform is black, a very forgiving color for a little boy.  Today, to my relief, the weather was actually rather warm, that is, until the sun set.  Then the cold set in rather quickly.

Mark and Isaac soccer

Jonny soccer uniform

Look at this neat thing I found for Ben at Target!  A tray for his Bumbo seat!  I had seen them online before, but this way I didn’t have to pay for shipping.  It doesn’t hold him in the seat, but it is great for putting his toys right where he can reach them.

Ben Bumbo Tray

One of Isaac’s top teeth fell out this last weekend.  He now has a slightly snaggle-toothed appearance – very cute I think:

Snaggle tooth Isaac

Mark played his double bass for praise and worship at church last Saturday night.  I was desperately trying to arrive on time with the three little ones, but that’s when Isaac chose to lose his tooth (in the parking lot!!)  Church was running late, so we still made it on time.

Mark bass

And finally: the miracle story of the week!!!!!

Washing machine

This is our 6 year old GE washer.  It died last Saturday.  The repair guy told us on Monday it would cost $250 to fix it.  We only paid $320 for it, so we figured it wasn’t worth it.  However, my ever-resourceful husband managed to fix it for a fraction of the replacement cost, and it’s now running beautifully as we speak!

This weekend we are heading off to Pittsburgh to visit our extended family, and also to attend the CdLS family gathering in Pittsburgh.  We’ve never met any other kids with CdLS in person before, so we’re looking forward to meeting other families.  Have a great weekend!

9 Responses to “My Boys”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    Hello, I followed a link from The Narrow Ridge to your blog. What a beautiful family you have. I see you have JGG aka Pinwheels in your list. She is one of my favoritve blogging friends.

    I would love to add you to my blogroll if that’s ok. I will stop back later to see what you think.

  2. Karen Says:

    Thanks Rebecca! I’ll add your link to my blogroll too.

  3. Lisa Leonard Says:

    I hope you guys have a good trip. It can be overwhelming to meet other familes with CdLS, but encouraging, too. I hope its a great experience.

  4. Sonia Says:

    We went to a family gathering in May. It was overwhelming but definite a positive experience for me. It gave us a good idea of what to expect down the road and ideas on how to deal with it, talking to other parents in priceless.
    What a great idea the bumbo tray is! Natalia never stays put and arches back so she can’t use hers 😦
    Jonny’s new soccer uniform is very cool! Your boys look adorable in their uniforms. 🙂

  5. Shelly Says:

    Next time you’re in the area please let us know. We’d love to have you over for a visit.

  6. Making myself useful « Mark Ruins Dinner Says:

    […] Karen was shocked and relieved to see that it worked.   I was pleasantly surprised as well. They changed the design of the motor, so hopefully this one will last until the kids graduate college.  Now, if I could only fix that toilet paper holder… […]

  7. Bennie Says:

    I really wish we lived closer to each other. I’m a musician as well. I play guitar…mostly acoustic when I get the chance these days. Plus we’d love to be invited over for dinner. 😉

  8. Karen Says:

    Bennie – I heard all about your musical career!
    😉
    We would love to have you guys over for dinner. So when are you visiting Central PA?

  9. mark - in my own defense Says:

    Bennie, I’ll be right there, as soon as I can fit this monstrosity in the minivan!


Leave a Reply

