Whatever Works…

Yum! 

This week I’ve been off work yet again.  I’ve been enjoying this time with Mark and the kids, even though we haven’t gone anywhere fancy.  In particular, I got to spend a lot more one-on-one time with Ben.  I am realizing just how much of his daily routine I am missing.  He is continuing to progress – he can sit unassisted for about a minute or two at a time now (but still can’t catch himself if he topples over), and here he is shaking a rattle for the first time (we don’t have too many that his tiny little hand can grasp).  He was so proud of himself!

Ben with rattle 

Here he is playing with a new spinning toy.  He loves it.  He scooted himself up very close to it so he could play with it with both arms:

Ben with spinning toy 

This week I was able to participate in all Ben’s Early Intervention sessions which is a rare treat.  Mark usually tells me what happens in the sessions, and I read most of the little yellow notes that his therapists provide, but it’s not the same.   For me it is so much better when I can be there in person.

One of Ben’s goals with Occupational Therapy is to eventually eat by mouth.  We have been working on this for a year or more, but hit a roadblock of sorts a few months back when Ben rejected having anything placed in or around his mouth.  His OT, however, is so patient and so good with him.  Slowly, she has persuaded him to start taking small tastes of food by mouth again.  This week, I mentioned to her that Ben seemed to tolerate objects (e.g. toothbrush, washcloth, fingers, etc.) in his mouth during bathtime.   So she suggested bringing his bathtub down to the living room to see if he would be more receptive to eating.   “Whatever works,” she said.  She was very patient with him…and he did great!  

So the first and last photos in this post were taken of our oral feeding session last night…in the bathtub, and with his singing flowers that Auntie Dawn gave him for his birthday (he also loves these, thanks, Auntie Dawn!)  Again he did very well; he did not fuss or gag once, and by the end he was smiling and giggling.  I hope we can get back on track with his oral feeds.

“Whatever works” is going to be my new motto!

Ben eating in bathtub

4 Responses to “Whatever Works…”

  1. Lisa Leonard Says:

    I like that motto! Wow! Ben is moving right along. It seems like he is following developmental timeline similar to David. Time would drag and things would seem to take forever and then BAM he could do it.
    I am so glad you have a creative, patient therapist working with Ben. I’m sure he’ll eat more little by little. It is such a painstaking process–but it will pay off. Sending you hugs!!

  2. Robin Says:

    I am glad you have good people working with him and you. I am glad you got to be with him. I got to be there for most of my kid’s therapy. It is so different then someone telling you. There is so much that you can add as well. Maybe they can record some of his sessions of OT or PT or speech that you miss.

  3. Christine Says:

    Yay Ben!!! What a big boy you are. Keep up the good work!!

  4. Mom/grandma Says:

    I haven’t seen Ben looking so responsive as in these pics.. I am happy that the therapy seems to be working for him. He looks so cute and happy.


Leave a Reply

