Hamburger Buns and Nectarine Cobbler

Ben at Farm

It’s been quiet around here lately.  I’m off again this week, but mighty disappointed at the cold and rainy weather we’ve been having for the last 3 days.  Why couldn’t it be like that when I was at work last week???

Aliyah returned from Trinidad on Sunday night, and the boys are very happy to have her back.  Isaac is boring entertaining her with his Legend of Zelda music.  He already knows how to play several melodies on the piano, so I’ve officially signed him up for piano lessons.  I hope he enjoys them.

We went to the farm of a friend on Saturday for a party which is where I took these pictures of Mark and the boys.  We saw lots of corn, but no animals.  Isaac wanted to explore the cornfields, but Jonny was having a meltdown…

Mark Isaac Ben

Isaac and Jonny

I decided to try a couple of recipes this last weekend.  First, I made these hamburger rolls which turned out GREAT.  They were very hearty:

Homemade hamburger buns

Then I made a nectarine cobbler which didn’t turn out quite like I expected (this being my first time making cobbler).  The crust puffed up HUGE and somehow swallowed up the nectarines.  It was still quite tasty coupled with vanilla ice cream and Mark’s delicious dulce de leche:

nectarine-cobbler.jpg

Here’s the recipe for the hamburger buns:

Grilled chicken sandwich

BURGER BUNS (From Fleishmann’s Yeast Best-Ever Breads) 

1/2 cup warm water (105-115 degrees F)

2 packages active dry yeast

3/4 cup warm milk (105-115 degrees F)

1/4 cup sugar

3 tbsp butter or margarine

1 1/2 tablespoons instant minced onion (optional – I didn’t use)

2 tsp salt

4 3/4 to 5 1/4 cups all-purpose flour ( I used 2 cups whole-wheat flour and the rest bread flour)

3 eggs

Poppy seeds, sesame seeds or instant minced onion (optional) for sprinkling

  1. Place warm water in a large warm bowl.  Sprinkle in yeast; stir until dissolved.  Add warm milk, sugar, butter, 1 1/2 tablespoon minced onion (if desired), salt and 2 cups flour; blend well. 
  2. Stir in 2 eggs and enough remaining flour to make a soft dough. 
  3. Knead on lightly floured surface until smooth and elastic, about 4-6 minutes.
  4. Place in greased bowl, turning to grease top.  Cover; let rise in warm, draft-free place until doubled in size, around 30 to 45 minutes.
  5. Punch dough down.  Remove dough to lightly floured surface.  Divide into 8 equal pieces.  [My note: 8 pieces will give you HUGE buns – next time I will probably make 10-12 buns with the same dough].  Form each piece into a smooth ball. 
  6. Place on large greased baking sheet.  Flatten balls into 4-inch rounds (if there are 8 of them, that is).  Cover.  Let rise until doubled in size, about 20-40 minutes.
  7. Lightly beat remaining egg; brush on rolls.  Sprinkle with seeds or onion if desired.
  8. Bake at 400 degrees for 10-15 minutes or until done.  Remove from baking sheet; let cool on wire rack.
22 Responses to “Hamburger Buns and Nectarine Cobbler”

  1. Lara Says:

    Oh my gosh… your burger buns look amazing!!! Funnily enough, I came to your site for dinner inspiration. I have to say the rolls do look tempting to make but not sure if I have the time today. I made cinnamon rolls last night/this morning…. turned out pretty good. They were the Alton Brown Overnight rolls. I was inspired by you guys again. I will have to start a blog on here so we can share recipes.

    You know… I never picked you as the cooking type in high school, but apparently a lot of people did not picture me as that type either!!!

    As for dinner… I remember that really nice soup Mark made.. the black bean/squash soup… was thiking of that and maybe some home made calzones… the weather is so cold and dreary here too, makes me feel for some something earthy and warming!!!

    Take care….Lara

  2. Lisa Leonard Says:

    sounds delicious–I’ll be right over 🙂

  3. Karen Says:

    Lara, you are a genius! We are having cream of broccoli soup, homemade honey wheat bread (which may or may not be made into sandwiches) and corn on the cob.
    I actually started cooking in high school. By the time I graduated I could make most of the basic meals we had in Trinidad. Of course, there was the one time I stewed up the chicken scraps mom was saving in the freezer to feed the dogs…tasted good, though!
    😉

  4. Lara Says:

    Karen.. that is hilarious about the dog scraps!!! I started experimenting in high school too… I especially loved to bake because I grew up watching my aunt bake at our house when she lived with us. All the Canadians I know are amazed that I make Lemon Meringue Pie from scratch, including the filling. They are all used to the Shirriff ready made filling.

    I ended up making Chicken Divan with rice for dinner… I had good intentions but I was pretty tired and passed out for an afternoon nap with Alexander.

    I will try starting up a blog later tonight maybe. I don’t know if I am as much a techie as you are even it may seem to my husband that I live on my laptop!!!

    Enjoy your dinner!!! 😉

  5. Bennie Says:

    Great. I’m now starving for some of those buns! I can’t do bread though.

  6. Karen Says:

    Can’t do bread??? How awful! I would sooner give up meat!
    😉
    Or did you mean you don’t make bread, not that you don’t eat it?

    Lara – you should definitely do a blog. You do not need to be a techie to use WordPress – believe me, I am barely computer literate. Would definitely love a recipe exchange. What is Chicken Divan? I’m not too good with baking except for bread. Can’t say I ever made a pie…will definitely have to try if you post a good recipe.
    😀

  7. Grandma/Mom Says:

    Ben looks so adorable and those burgers are the best I’ve seen in a long time. Why weren’t you all living next door?

  8. mark - in my own defense Says:

    Mummy – if you babysit I’ll cook.

  9. sharon millar Says:

    Karen.
    I’m so impressed with you two. Bread wow! I was a pretty good cook at one time but I seem to be getting worse not better. But I will say that I make a mean stew chicken. It is still my ultimate comfort food. That and mashed avacado with farine. When I married my husband, he had never heard of Farine and thought I was some sort of country bumbkin. I am going to try your bun recipe. Peewah is in season here right now and I think that peewah, chataigne and topi tambo are some of the things that i could never give up.
    I’ll check back in on you to see what you are up to.
    Keep good,
    Sharon

  10. Grandma/Mom Says:

    Mark, its a deal…………..:-)

  11. Lisa (UK) Says:

    Those buns look goooood, but no where near as yummy as Ben, look at him so cute, he looks like the happiest little fella in the world. I absolutely LOVE his hair, he is just too cute. I like how Jonny is covering his ears, his expression seems to be saying “shut up and get me out of here!!!”

  12. Karen Says:

    Thanks, Sharon! I don’t think I make stew chicken here often enough. I’ve never had mashed avocado and farine – you mean cream of wheat? Sounds promising…I haven’t had chataigne, topi tambo and peewah since I was a child! Wow, I had almost forgotten that they exist.
    Lisa, yes, Ben was looking particularly cute. Mark had said that his shirt was too country-ish, but I think the colors look good on him. And you are correct about what Jonny’s mood was that day!

  13. larabh Says:

    mmmm peewah… I have not had that in ages…neither topi tambo, I have managed to have curried chataigne at another Trini’s house up here… not sure where they got it.

    Karen – Chicken Divan is just a fancy name for chicken and broccoli that is mixed with any cream soup then topped with cheese and bread crumbs and baked till bubbly. The chicken and broccoli are precooked, so really the baking part is to melt the cheese, brown the crumbs and heat everything else. I made mine with condensed cream of mushroom soup mixed with a little milk (1/3 cup) and sour cream (about 1/2 cup). I used the following recipe as a guide for what to put in it but essentially used my own quantities and seasonings.

    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Broccoli-Chicken-Divan/Detail.aspx

    For the most part… when I use recipes I read the reviews to decide if to try it and to see what suggestions are made by others who have tried the recipe.

    Look I started a blog…

    http://larabh.wordpress.com/

  14. larabh Says:

    oooh… I meant to ask… what type of pie would you like to make if you had to make one? Let me know and I will see if I have a recipe for you to try.

  15. Karen Says:

    Lara: just checked out the blog – very cool – how exciting! I’ve added you to my blogroll. You’ll see what an addiction blogging is!
    😉

  16. larabh Says:

    yes I can tell it will be addictive….

  17. Lisa (UK) Says:

    Hi Karen, I think farine is something to do with cassava. I vaguely remember experimenting the best way to preserve cassava, we made cassava flat bread, farine with the cassava. I can’t remember how we made it though, I might be wrong though because typing this I also seem to remember farine being something you buy from the school vendors which was a grainy thing mixed with sugar and maybe ground spices….
    I love Ben’s shirt, just a couple of weeks ago I bought a very similar shirt, but in pink and my husband said I was missing a cowboy hat and boots!

  18. Karen Says:

    Wow, I learned something new today. I’d never heard of that before!

  19. Nicole Says:

    Hi Karen,

    Those hamburger buns are absolutely beautiful!! I tried making some once but they didn’t turn out well and I never tried again. Your photos definitely make me want to try this recipe though! Thanks 🙂

  20. Karen Says:

    Thanks Nicole!
    I know Mark told you how much we love your rosemary pizza dough!!

  21. Lara Says:

    Hey…just thought I would let you know I made the hamburger buns today… they were amazing!!! I made 10 buns instead of 8 as you had mentioned that they were huge. They turned out to be just the right size. The boys loved them…hopefully I have not set myself up here for trouble… they might not want store bought burger buns again!

  22. Karen Says:

    Glad you liked them – I will have to make them again but I’m waiting for weather warm enough to break out the grill first!


Leave a Reply

