Fifteen Month Well Child Check

15 month wcc

 On Friday Ben had his 15 month checkup at the pediatrician’s office.  Isaac and Jonny came with us and were extremely well-behaved, thank goodness, with the help of the Gameboys.  Ben is growing well – he was 13 lbs 14 oz, which is right at the 50th percentile for weight on the CdLS growth chart for baby boys.  He’s only 24.5 inches long, so he’s only at the 25th percentile for height.  I guess he’s taking after his dad!  😉

He checked out fine, and his pediatrician was pleased with how he’s doing overall.  Developmentally he’s at the level of a 5 or 6 month old infant.  Watching Ben grow is like watching child development in slow motion!

We will be looking into insurance coverage for Synagis shots again for this coming RSV season.  If the insuance doesn’t cover it, needless to say we won’t be getting the Synagis since it costs well over $1,000 per shot!  Also on our agenda is an opthomology evaluation.  We’ve never had Ben’s eyes checked out, and lately I’ve noticed that his left eye seems to wander outward a bit.  I wonder how well he sees.

Ben had 2 vaccines, and he cried for just a little bit.  Thankfully he was his usual happy self the rest of the day, with no fever or fussiness.   He’s such a good baby.

Big brothers at doctor

4 Responses to “Fifteen Month Well Child Check”

  1. Christine Says:

    OH those Synagis shots are so darn expensive!!! I watched the eob’s from the insurance company (eobs are what they actually pay the provider)anyway our shots were about $4000 a month a child and thats not including the nursing visit to have them given. I cant imagine not having ins. plan to pay for them. We dont qualify for them this year and I am a little worried about that but we wont go out much. RSV scares the *%#! out of me. 🙂
    If they wont cover them sometimes the state will pay, but you would have to go through the medicaid system of your state. Also some states have a fund called Special Healthcare needs for kids. Its probably called something different your state but they can help as well. Good luck with the insurance coverage.
    All the boys look wonderful!!

    Christine
    Mom to Ian, Spencer, & Oliver

  2. Lisa Leonard Says:

    good check up! he’s a little chunko. david has always been skinny and tall 🙂 i know what you mean about slow motion–with david time just goes much slower. in some ways, its kinda nice.

  3. Sonia Estrada Says:

    Hi Karen
    Just thought I’d de-lurk and say hi.
    I’m so glad Ben is doing well, I still think he looks alot like my daughter Natalia: ADORABLE.
    I get ya on the slow-mo, I figure my Nati is around the 4 to 5 month level. I guess we have more time to baby them…

    Sonia, mom to Natalia almost 1 year

  4. Karen Says:

    Hi Christine! Our EOB listed the cost of Synagis at somewhere around $1400 per month, thankfully not as much as $4000. I worry about RSV just a little since even if we don’t go out, Ben has two school-aged siblings who bring plenty of germs home! Thankfully, he has been very healthy so far.
    Lisa and Sonia, I agree that in some ways it is nice to have a little baby for a while longer. And I think Ben DOES look like Natalia. 😉
    I hope she is doing well – I haven’t heard from you guys in awhile.


Leave a Reply

