Bread

Cinnamon Raisin Bread 

This weekend was interesting.  I was in a rare bread-making mood.  I made a total of 6 loaves of bread: one oatmeal, one cinnamon raisin and four loaves of our favorite honey-wheat.  Our Jenn-Air oven has died, so all these were made in our 12 year old, $30 Wal-Mart toaster oven.  We had friends over to help us eat some of it on Friday, but we have plenty left over for the week.

We saw Ratatouille in the theater on Friday night.  It was definitely better than Shrek 3.  Jonny got a little restless, and it was a good thing I had his Gameboy tucked away in my purse.  He played it for the last 20 minutes of the movie, so everyone else got to enjoy it in peace.

Yesterday we babysat the twin daughters of some good friends of ours.  They are right around Isaac’s age, so it worked out GREAT – Jonny, Isaac and the girls ran all over the house with swords and shields and entertained each other for hours!  And no-one asked me to watch TV or play video games! 

Tonight is a different story.  Mark and our new church worship leader are downstairs right now working on some sort of musical thing (I’m not much good with music so I’m not sure what they’re doing), so my job tonight is to keep the kids out of their hair.  So I’m doing it the easy/lazy way.  Notice how Ben manages to turn like the hands of a clock, and Jonny can’t leave Ben’s little arm alone. 

Video games 1Video games 2Video games 3

Here are the links to the recipes for the Honey Wheat and Cinnamon Raisin bread:

Honey Wheat Bread

Honey Wheat Bread

I got this recipe from Allrecipes.com years ago, and I’ve made it regularly ever since.  It comes out beautifully every time!

Cinnamon Raisin Bread

I also got the original recipe for this from Allrecipes.com.  It made three loaves, but I only had enough energy left over to make just one.  So here is my adapted one-loaf recipe.  I used proportionally more raisins because I like them.  It came out reasonably OK.  The boys loved it.

1/2 cup milk

1/3 cup warm water

1 package active dry yeast

1 egg

1/4 cup white sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup softened butter

1 cup raisins

2 2/3 cup bread flour

1 tbsp milk

1/4 cup sugar (I used turbinado brown sugar because I like it better)

2 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tbsp melted butter.

1.  Warm the milk in the microwave until it bubbles, remove from heat and cool until lukewarm.

2.  Dissolve yeast in warm water, and set aside until yeast is frothy. 

3.  Mix together eggs, sugar, butter, salt and raisins.  Stir in cooled milk, add flour gradually to make a sticky dough.

4.  Knead the dough on lightly floured surface for 8-10 minutes.  You may need to knead in more flour if the dough is very sticky and wet.  Place in large, greased mixing bowl.  Turn dough to grease the surface.  Cover loosely with plastic wrap and a towel, let rise until doubled (about an hour).

5.  Punch down dough.  Roll out dough into a large rectangle 1/2 inch thick.  Moisten dough with the milk.  Mix cinnamon and sugar, sprinkle over dough.  Roll up dough, tuck in the ends and put into greased loaf pan to rise a second time for about an hour.

6.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.  Brush crust with melted butter.  Remove from pan, cool on wire rack covered loosely with a clean towel.

12 Responses to “Bread”

  1. Mom/Grandma Says:

    Its been a while since I made bread. I think I will use your recipes and try my hand this coming weekend. Hope I have the same success.

  2. Lisa (UK) Says:

    That bread look gorgeous! Yummy warm with butter! I made a coconut back last weekend which was so nice warm… unfortunately it was rock hard by the time it cooled! Must be my bad kneeding!

  3. Lisa Says:

    you are making me hungry…

  4. Mom/Grandma Says:

    Lisa, you made a coconut bake? where you get the coconut girl?

  5. Karen Says:

    The bread was a big hit at our house. Out of 6 loaves, 5 have been eaten already! The cinnamon raisin bread was all gone in about 2-3 days. The boys kept asking for it for dessert.
    Lisa (UK): I’ve never made a coconut bake. I don’t know if any of my Trini cookbooks have a recipe either. I’ll have to check…
    Lisa (US): Sorry about this post! I know you guys are going low carb. I am such a carb junkie that I would sooner give up meat than carbs. 😉

  6. Lisa (UK) Says:

    Cheryl don’t be rude… you can get coconuts over here, and not just in the fancy dress shop for hawaiian costumes! In the Naparima Girls High School Cookbook they don’t actually use gated coconut they just use coconut milk, which you can buy in a tin so it saved me having to crack the nut and then all that grating.

  7. Lara Says:

    Hey Karen… those breads look really good… I think I am going to try the recipes and see how they turn out. I love making bread and have not done so in a while. I have two mennonite recipes I use to make white and whole bread and they are really good but these look really interesting so I will give it a go. My boys love homemade bread!!!

    I think you will be a source of recipes for me. I love trying new things. We should start a recipe exchange!!!

    The boys all look lovely… glad to see all is well.

  8. Karen Says:

    Hi Lara! Good to hear from you. I like trying new stuff too. The recipe exchange is a GREAT idea. Are you willing to share your Mennonite recipes?
    😉

  9. Noelia Says:

    ah makin’ bread too… ah could smell it now. bread price raise in Trinidad . It is 7.00 for a kiss loaf. Ah baking meh bread now yes.

  10. Lara Says:

    oh….I made the honey wheat bread… really nice and moist. Nothing beats fresh bread out of the oven!!!!

  11. Karen Says:

    Thanks for the links, Lara. Will need to try those as soon as our new oven comes in (hopefully this weekend!) I’m with you – there are few things as good as fresh homemade bread.
    Noelia: $7 for a Kiss loaf? Are they serious? You are definitely better off making your own bread!


Leave a Reply

