For a Minute I Thought I Was in Trinidad

Amazon Parrot

Today we got home from our church picnic and were having a quiet evening.  Suddenly, the silence was broken by familiar parrotlike shrieks and shouts of “Hello?”  Turns out that the neighbor’s parrot flew away and was stuck high, high up in a tree next to our house.  They apparently have been trying all day to coax it down to no avail. 

He was difficult to see, far less photograph, because he was so green and so high up.  Would you believe that the above photo (by far the best one) was taken by Jonathan?

While I was writing this post, apparently the parrot’s owners had called a local tree service to bring the parrot (whose name is Pedro) down.  The tree guy came with a bucket truck and Pedro’s owner actually got up into the bucket with the tree guy and they succeeded in getting Pedro back down.

Parrot rescueCaptured

Our boys went out in their PJ’s to watch.  We haven’t had so much excitement on our street since we moved here!

I am so glad we don’t have pets.

Posted in Pets. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “For a Minute I Thought I Was in Trinidad”

  1. mark - in my own defense Says:

    They called a bucket truck to come in on a Sunday to fetch a pet bird out of a tree. I wish I’d have heard that phone call!

  2. Mom/Grandma Says:

    He looks like a nice parrot. Reminds me of the day ours got away and flew right across the neighbourhood. Unfortunately, we weren’t as fortunate in getting it back. And Karen, if you remember he could have said more words than just hello…….:-)

  3. Mom/Grandma Says:

    I wonder where your neighbour got his bird…..

  4. Karen Says:

    I was telling Mark that there was NO WAY I would EVER go up that high in a bucket to retrieve a bird! Also, when they got to the parrot he was scared, and flapped his wings, squawked and tried to fly away again. The poor lady had to take off her T-shirt to wrap him in it before he would calm down. Thank goodness she was wearing a tank-top underneath!
    😀


Leave a Reply

