Did You Ever Have One of Those Days?

Stranded at Target 

Today started off like any other Saturday – after I went to the YMCA, I took one or more of our sons (today I had Jonny and Ben) on our weekly shopping expedition.  I went to Target first, reasoning that anything I got there would be non-perishable and therefore would not melt/wilt/spoil in the 85-degree heat.  So we went to Target, I got everything I had to, and then went back out to the car, strapped Jonny in his booster and got ready to open the trunk to put my purchases in.

And I couldn’t find my keys!

I checked everywhere – my purse, the diaper bag, Ben’s carseast, my purse again.  Nope, still couldn’t find them.

Frustrated, I got Jonny out of the car and went back in the store.  Nobody had turned in any keys to customer service.  I retraced my steps and called Mark.  Unfortunately he and Isaac were doing a little shopping of their own, a good 30 minutes away.  He promised to make his way back to meet me at Target.  In the meantime, I fed Ben, got Jonny a cookie and some vanilla milk from the Starbucks inside Target, and retraced my steps again.  No luck.  At one point, Jonny said, “I guess we’ll have to stay at Target forever” in a resigned sort of voice.

Ben needed a diaper, so I went back to the car to grab one from the diaper bag.  And that’s when I found the keys – neatly tucked into one of the side pockets that I’d thought were such a great feature when I bought the bag.  I was relieved, but I felt like such an idiot.  Sheepishly, I called Mark and told him the good news.

Jonny and Ben were such good sports for the entire afternoon, even though our shopping expedition lasted about an hour longer than it should have.

The rest of the afternoon didn’t go too well either – I knocked over a display of porcelain angels at the dollar store (amazingly, none broke), I spilled a carton of raspberries when I got home (I never knew they were so squishy and fragile – never had them before!), and when Mark finally got home, he arrived to find that I’d left the car door ajar, the trunk open, and my purse in the front seat (I was salvaging what was left of my precious raspberries).

I think I should have just stayed in bed today.

Posted in Kids, Life. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Did You Ever Have One of Those Days?”

  1. Lawrence Says:

    “I guess we’ll have to stay at Targt forever”….now that’s funny. Poor little guy.

    Sounds like you had a rough day; try that car open with purse exposed routine in Trinidad, and the least of your worries will be spilt raspberries. I love the states for that.

  2. Lisa Says:

    If I had to live at a store, I’d choose Target. Sounds like a frustrating day. I’ve been there…

  3. Christine Says:

    I have had many days like that. I try to take a nap during those days and when I wake up I pretend like nothing bad happened before the nap. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesnt.

  4. Karen Says:

    Lawrence: I know my purse would have been LONG GONE had I still been living in Trinidad. Or for that matter, anywhere else in the U.S. other than rural Central PA. LOL!
    Lisa: well said. I was actually thinking the same thing!
    Christine: What a great idea! I will have to try that the next time I have a day like this one. And I KNOW there will be another one…


Leave a Reply

