I Love the Dollar Store!

Isaac with bug collector 

The older boys went grocery shopping with me on Saturday.  In exchange for good behavior, I bribed them with a visit to the dollar store next door to the supermarket.  I’m glad we went.  Here are some of the cool things we found for little boys:

1.  Bug Collecting Sets

These came complete with a container with a built-in magnifier in the lid, tweezers (for the more squeamish among us), and a bug net.  Jonny managed to break his immediately by pulling on it while I was trying to get it out of the packaging, but who cares?  It was only $1, and it was still savageable with a little scotch tape.  We even managed to catch a couple creepy-crawlies that were hiding under one of my flower pots.

Jonny getting bugsBug collector

2.  Squirt Guns

These even had little pop-up water shields.  Of course they didn’t actually prevent one from getting wet as Jonny learned:

Water fightJonny screaming

3.  Swim Goggles

Both older boys are in gymnastics camp this week, and have pool time.  We bought each of them a pair.  Isaac loves his, but so far the goggles haven’t really convinced Jonny to set foot in the pool.

4.  A Neat Book about the Earth

My guys like non-fiction.  I read part of this as a bedtime story last night.  Really.

Earth book

5.  Koosh Balls

I don’t know why they even like these.  We had one for Ben which they somehow managed to destroy, so actually Mark bought them some for their very own to wreck.

Koosh

So if you have small kids, head on over to your local dollar store.  You never know what you might find.

5 Responses to “I Love the Dollar Store!”

  1. Dawn Says:

    Oh, poor Jonny! The hazards of being the younger brother. (No comments from the peanut gallery).

  2. mark - in my own defense Says:

    Yes, the travails of the younger brother! How horrible is his fate!

  3. Dawn Says:

    You survived.

  4. Lawrence Says:

    Of come on….some water…..sheesh! These nowadays boys….but Karen I agree about the dollar store….somehow I do remember disapproving looks from you though when Rhoda & I went there.

  5. Andrew Says:

    Do dollar store toys have lead in them? I’d like to get toys for my boys there, too, but I’m worried about all that. *shrug*


Leave a Reply

