Early Intervention Review

Ben and Jonny 

Because Ben has a syndrome that causes developmental delays, he gets Early Intervention services that are completely free of charge to us, and are paid for by the state.  Each week he has a physical therapist and an occupational therapist come to our home to work with him, and to show us what we should do to help him reach the next step of development. 

Today was Ben’s 1 year review/ IFSP meeting.  We talked about Ben’s progress so far (slow but steady) and our goals for him for the next 6 months.  We’ll be working mostly on the same stuff: sitting independently, rolling, grasping, standing with suport, and of course, eating by mouth!  We’ll also have a speech therapist coming to do an evaluation to see if this is the right time to start those services too.

I think Early Intervention is a GREAT program, and we’ve been very happy with Ben’s therapists so far.  I grew up in Trinidad with a younger sister who has developmental delays.  There wasn’t a similar program in place at the time (I’m not even sure if there is one now), and families of children who had disabilities were left to cope as best they could on their own.  That’s why I am so thankful for the EI program that we have.  I think it’s made a big difference for Ben and for us.

9 Responses to “Early Intervention Review”

  1. Shelly Says:

    Early Intervention is a fantastic resource!!! They helped us work through Caleb’s delays and I’m so thankful for a program like that that’s out there. I’m also thankful for a friend that cared enough about his situation to recommend it and find us the resources we needed. My husband’s company raises money every year for Achieva which coincidentally ended up begin the organization that came into our home and evaluated him. 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    The OT just left! Tomorrow Ollie has PT. I am so thankful that they come to the home and take such good care of my guys. I love that they show us how to work with them to make them stronger and meet their developmental goals.
    Glad to hear that its available in your state!

    Your boys look great!

  3. Lawrence Says:

    It is so nice that you guys get that help from the state; the lack of such support in Trinidad is indeed testimony to the outstanding job that our partents did with Maryam.

    The boys look so cute. Jonny reminds me of Maryam and myself…..for some reason I could not leave her alone either!!!!

  4. Mom/Grandma Says:

    Ben is indeed very fortunate to have these early intervention services as it is the key to maximizing his potential. I often wonder how much better Maryam would have been if she had those programs available to her. What she had though, was plenty of love………

  5. Lisa Says:

    We loved David’s early intervention therapists. I used to joke with them that they were really my therapists because they really helped me process a lot of things regarding David’s disability. I agree with Mom/Grandma, you can’t underestimate the effects of a loving home and awesome siblings & parents. Ben has got it made!!

  6. Karen Says:

    Ben’s therapists almost feel like part of our family now. They’re wonderful people who really do seem to care about him.
    I only wish that I were home for more of his therapy sessions.

  7. Lisa (UK) Says:

    “the lack of such support in Trinidad is indeed testimony to the outstanding job that our partents did with Maryam.”… Lawrence… not just your parents (Cheryl & Lars absolutely fantastic)… but also to you, Karen, & Aliyah… You are an amazing family and I have so much respect and admiration for you guys, most definitely an example to follow (maybe not so much you though Lawrence) *smile*

  8. Mom/Grandma Says:

    well, thank you Lisa, for saying such nice things about us…..

  9. Lawrence Says:

    Very kind words Lisa…am in complete agreement….except for the the part about me not being an example to follow; although, I do understand what you mean! LOL

    Mom is quite right…the undying love that ALL of us have for Maryam I belive was the simple most important factor in Maryam’s progress over the years. I personally have a very special place in my heart for EmmyJ and trust that she will continue to brighten our daily lives. It has reached to the point where I cannot even imagine life in Trinidad without her. I love getting up in the morning and harassing her for my morning kiss!


Leave a Reply

