Dinner and a Movie

Tonight we decided to spend some family time together and neither of us wanted to cook dinner.  We also had a late evening thunderstorm, so we had to pick an indoor activity.

We ended up having dinner at our brand new Red Robin.  Dinner was OK.  I had a very good, spicy blackened chicken sandwich, and Mark had a mediocre bacon cheeseburger.    Here are the kids – Aliyah wasn’t with us because she was spending time with a college friend (or friends – I’m not sure who…some big sister I turned out to be!) 

Isaac at Red RobinBen at Red RobinJonny at Red Robin

Then we went to our TINY local movie theater (which is a part of our tiny mall) to see Shrek the Third.  The ticket prices were ridiculous ($5.50 for kids 3-11 and $8 for adults), and the concessions even more so.  I paid $3.10 for a bottle of water!  Now I remember why we don’t do this very often!  By the time all is said and done, you’re out $50.

MovieMark and Ben

The movie wasn’t even very good!  The first two Shrek movies were much funnier.  Jonny got bored about 90 minutes into the movie, and Ben was fussy.  Jonny, Ben and I actually left early (and didn’t see the end of the movie) and went to the mall’s toy store to look around.  We enjoyed looking at the toys more than the movie, I think.  I almost bought Ben a set of pom-poms – he had great fun grasping and pulling on the strands in the store.  I think I will buy him a doll with long yarn hair instead so he can practice his grasping… 

Next time I think we’ll have to think of something better to do to spend time as a family.  Any ideas for rainy evenings?  Here’s one idea: with the same $50 we could have bought a new multi-player game for our Wii and had fun playing it at home! 

One thing is for sure: there’ll be no more movies in the theater for a long, long time.

6 Responses to “Dinner and a Movie”

  1. Lawrence Says:

    Tickets – $27…..
    Water, Popcorn, Pop – $23
    Spending the evening with your restless boys – Priceless!

    Really funny that you did not even see the movie to the end….so what are you saying, don’t waste my money going with Rhoda?

  2. Karen Says:

    That’s what I’m saying, unless you are seeing it for substantially less than what we paid to see it.

  3. markruinsdinner Says:

    …and don’t forget the broken chairs that almost deposited us on the floor.

  4. Lisa Says:

    Cinemas are such a rip off, we spend about £25 (50USD) when just Simon and I go to the cinema… pop corn and coke is £6 each… we always wait for it to come out on DVD now… at least that way you can pause it during a comfort break!

  5. Karen Says:

    And I thought movies were expensive in the US!
    I think what we need is a big screen TV and surround sound so that we can REALLY enjoy our DVD’s at home.

  6. Dawn Says:

    My goodness is Jonny looking grown up! I had to take a double take that it was really him and not Isaac in that picture.


Leave a Reply

