Happy Mother’s Day!

Creme Brulee 

A belated “Happy Mother’s Day” to all the Moms out there! 

I had a great Mother’s Day weekend. 

On Saturday we went to a used book sale at our local college where Aliyah is a student.  It was a gorgeous morning, which was a good thing.  For the first time since we’ve been here, we weren’t allowed to park on campus but had to walk a long way to and from our cars.  So I broke out the stroller for Ben, Isaac walked and Jonny rode on Mark’s shoulders.  Mark and I should never be allowed to go to used book sales.  We must have bought 50 books!  (OK, so most of them were kids’ books).  Heaven knows where we’re going to put them!  As it was, Ben lost his stroller for the trip back to the van.  I carried him in his front pack carrier, and the books rode in the stroller instead.

Then we went to Isaac’s soccer game.   There was a scheduling mix-up and the other team didn’t show.  Isaac and his teammates actually had a great time playing against each other for a change.  Ben slept for a long time on a blanket on the ground:

Ben sleeping at soccer game 

On Sunday we went to church, and I actually got there on time.

Mark made us ham and eggs for after-church-brunch, and prepared a lovely dinner later that evening.  He made Beef Wellington, sauteed potatoes and green beans.  The highlight of the evening, though, was creme brulee that he made the day before, chilled in the refrigerator, and caremelized using the tiniest blowtorch I have ever seen:

Tiniest blowtorch 

The final product was just like it looked on “Amelie” (which is a great movie, BTW), and it even made the same cracking sound!  It was PERFECT and very rich.  I know I gained about 5 lbs from just that one dessert!

Mark got me a digital LCD picture frame for a Mother’s Day present.  Who knew such a neat gadget existed.  I’d post a photo of it, but it’s already at my office showing photos of the boys all day long.

In other news, both older boys seem to have caught some sort of GI bug.  I hope they aren’t sharing…

3 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!”

  1. markruinsdinner Says:

    Does anybody know where I can find natural blowtorch enhancement supplements?

  2. chennette Says:

    hey – Happy Mother’s Day! Sounds like a really good weekend.

  3. Lawrence Says:

    Happy Mothers Day! Tried to call you on the day in question but nobody answered. I even called Mark’s cell to no avail. At any rate, I am happy that you had a great day.


Leave a Reply

