One Busy Saturday

Cat burglar Isaac 

This morning was Isaac’s first soccer game of the season.  I had hoped that by now we would have been well into warm spring weather, but this morning was COLD!  We bundled Isaac up and we all went.  Poor Isaac looked like a cat burglar when we were done with him.  He had a good time even though the other team won by a huge margin.  Ben didn’t like the cold at all, so he and Mark watched from the van.  Jonny stayed out with me for most of the first half, but then he too retreated to the relative warmth of the van.

Jonny at soccer game Dad and Ben

After the game, Jonny and I went grocery shopping.  I had fun but Jonny was bored and let me know about it. 

 Can we go home now

After I got home with the goods, I had barely enough time to grab a bite to eat and get ready for work.  At work I was busy and never really sat down for more than a few minutes at a time.  Then I came home and made supper (another great recipe from Cooking Light, served with rice, sauteed green beans and this awesome salad – I omitted the pine nuts).

Now I am finally ready for bed.

Mark is making great headway in the dining room with all the painting.  I am itching to post pictures of his progress so far, but he has forbidden me from doing so until the project is complete.  Spoilsport!

23 Responses to “One Busy Saturday”

  1. Aliyah Says:

    I’m so sorry I couldn’t come and help Mark with the painting!

  2. Grandma/Mom Says:

    Poor Aliyah……..she is so sick. But I am sure that some good samaritan (s)will deliver some gatorade and a few cans of soup for her……..

  3. Karen Says:

    But what about the good old dining hall food?

  4. Grandma/Mom Says:

    Ali says its bad on the best of days……….thankfully she is feeling a bit better tonight

  5. markruinsdinner Says:

    We hope you feel better, Lia.

  6. Lawrence Says:

    Did not know that delivering some cans of soup and sending some wishes of good health was considered an “outpouring of sympathy”. Besides, Karen always had a very loving and supporting Grandmother to look out for her.

  7. markruinsdinner Says:

    True true. I should MAKE Aliyah some soup, shouldn’t I?

  8. Karen Says:

    I don’t recall Grandma sending me soup when I was sick in college…
    BTW – how are you feeling, Aliyah? If not better, maybe you should see a doctor.
    🙂

  9. Aliyah Says:

    I’m much better, thanks! Still sick, but not nearly as dismal as I was this weekend.

  10. Karen Says:

    Now that we have that out of the way…don’t my boys look cute?
    😉

  11. Noelia Says:

    hey Karen, hey aliyah , how are you all…Karen tell aliyah all she need is ah good mango chow with lots of pepper….mango is in season now and I can’t wait !!!!

  12. Lawrence Says:

    Yes Karen the boys look cute…….

  13. Karen Says:

    Noelia, you HAD to mention mango chow!!! Mangoes were on sale at the supermarket, but unfortunately they were sweet and not sour enough for my taste.
    Aliyah, in any case mango chow is ill-advised when you are not well. Instead go for clear fluids and ibuprofen.

  14. Aliyah Says:

    But mango chow tastes better than clear fluids!

  15. Shelly Says:

    Adorable pics of the boys!!!! Isaac looks smashing in his soccer uniform and the picture of Jonny in the buggy should be framed. Captures the true heart of kids in the supermarket. Unless THEY’RE the ones filling the buggy with tasty treats there’s really not a whole lot in it for them. :))

    Hope the soccer season goes well!!!

  16. Lawrence Says:

    I must agree with Shelly. Issac looks like a star in the uniform. And poor Jonny in the cart is priceless. Why wasn’t he walking anyway…big horse like dat. Benji also looks quite content in the car that day. Looks like you had fun.

  17. Karen Says:

    Trust me, you don’t want Jonny walking around the store or he WILL be filling the cart with those tasty treats Shelly mentioned. That particular supermarket has a (free) kids’ play area complete with a TV and video games, but for unknown reasons Jonny didn’t want to stay there that day. So it’s his own fault he was bored!

  18. Noelia Says:

    Karen , by the way isn’t Ben ist birthday coming up!! What day is it???

  19. Aliyah Says:

    Incidentally, Mummy reminded me to tell you that Orchesis is tomorrow and Saturday, at 8pm, and I’d love it if you guys came. There’s even more bellydancing (I’m not doing it!) Actually there’s a bellydance workshop on Friday that I think you should go to, sis! ^_^

  20. Karen Says:

    Ben’s birthday is the last day of the month. We will be spending the better part of the day out of town since Ben has to go to feeding clinic and needs his hearing aid molds resized.
    But that’s for another blog.
    Aliyah – will come to Orchesis if I can. There is NO WAY I will EVER do any belly dancing. The very suggestion is scandalous!

  21. Grandma/Mom Says:

    30th April, Ben’s birthday, is also the day Granpa Lars’ cast is due to come off., after 6 long weeks….. more reason to celebrate!

  22. Karen Says:

    Hope the wrist looks good when the cast comes off…I know of at least one person here who had the cast removed, only to have a new one put back on because the bones were slow to heal.


Leave a Reply

