Geera Pork

Geera Pork 1 

I’ve been sick with a nasty cold this weekend.  Fortunately, I was able to stay home and rest today, but I did decide to try making some geera pork for dinner.  This is a dish served in my home country of Trinidad and Tobago.  I have never tasted it before since pork hasn’t been served in my parents’ household for years and years, and we generally don’t cook it very often in ours.   The dish was quite good I think, but unfortunately my sense of taste has been diminished to 25% of normal because of my cold.  Mark didn’t complain about it anyway.

“Geera” is the same thing as cumin.  I believe that in Trinidad geera pork is commonly consumed with alcoholic beverages, but we had ours with jasmine rice, potato cakes and curried channa (chick peas), and no rum.  It is also supposed to be very hot and spicy, but I didn’t add any hot peppers because the kids (and Mark) were eating it.  The boys seemed to like the pork OK, but I think they enjoyed the side dishes better.  Jonathan actually requested roti with this meal, but I hadn’t gotten any out of the freezer.

I got my recipe from the Naparima Girls’ Trinidad cookbook.  For the recipe click below.  Since this was my first attempt, any suggestions for improving the recipe would be welcomed!  (Noelia, you said Andrew made a good geera pork…)

Geera Pork

(adapted from “The Multicultural Cuisine of Trinidad & Tobago & the Caribbean.”  The book is great, but apparently Amazon doesn’t carry it.  It seems to be readily available for purchase in Trinidad  😉

1 lb lean, boneless pork cut in 1 inch cubes (according to the book, chicken or beef can be substituted)

1 tsp salt

2 tbsp. minced green seasoning (chives or scallions, thyme, oregano, garlic and vinegar blended together to make a sort of paste.  In Trinidad you can purchase this ready-made, but lots of people have their own recipes using different herbs.)

1/2 tsp. black pepper

2 tsp. minced garlic (I tend to go heavy on the garlic!)

2 tsp. minced shadow beni (culantro).   (I can’t get this locally so I used cilantro which has a very similar flavor).

2 tsp. minced pimento

2 tbsp. vegetable oil

1 tbsp. garam massala (or curry powder)

1/4 cup water

1 tsp. minced hot pepper (I omitted this because the boys don’t like it)

1 tbsp. ground cumin (geera)

1.  Season pork with salt, green seasoning, black pepper, garlic, cilantro and pimento.  Allow to marinate for at least 4 hours or overnight.

Geera Pork 2

2.  Heat oil; mix garam massala with 1/4 cup water to form a paste and add to hot oil.  Cook for about 3 minutes or until thick.

Geera Pork 3

3.  Add pork and stir until coated with massala.

4.  Lower heat, cover and allow to simmer in its own juices for 20-25 juices or until almost cooked.  You may have to add a little more water to prevent burning.

5.  Add minced hot pepper and ground cumin; stir thoroughly and allow to cook for an additional 5-10 minutes until tender (I added extra cilantro at this step). 

Geera Pork 4

Posted in Food. 10 Comments »

10 Responses to “Geera Pork”

  1. Lawrence Says:

    Just to clarify, Geera Pork is usually served as a “cutter” (bar snack) in bars and restaurants in Trinidad. It is usally consumed just at the point when the patron starts to feel a bit intoxicated and the pepper (usually quite alot) is designed as a sobering agent….one that I might add is very effective.

    The pork looks like it came out fine though….Maybe some of your other readers (e.g. Rhoda) can suggest improvements to the recepie. Wish I was there to sample.

  2. Lisa Says:

    Hi Karen, I am a friend of Cheryl’s. The only advise I would give is to make sure the cumin/ geera is roasted. In UK you cannot buy ground ROASTED cumin, just the cumin seeds. If that is all you can get in US as well I would suggest dry roasting it in a hot pan before grinding the seeds. But Geera Pork is the absolute best, geera lamb is lovely as well!

  3. markruinsdinner Says:

    Hi, this is Mark, and I can tell you that the geera pork was very good, and very much appreciated. Karen got her geera from our stash of spices procured in Trinidad, so it may already have been roasted. Chief brand, man!

  4. Karen Says:

    I thought about mentioning the part about roasting the cumin. I definitely used the roasted version I brought from Trinidad.

  5. Grandma/Mom Says:

    Lisa, as far as I recall, you make a wicked geera pork…………

  6. Noelia Says:

    Well firstly geera pork is basically as easy as 1234
    1 good pot
    2 lbs pork
    3 lbs pepper
    4 lbs rum ……….. ha ha

    I think that was a good receipe as I am sure that all the ingrediants were authentic but of course they fail to mention one teeny tiny detail…. the iron pot … Cook that receipe in a good iron pot and fry the meat down until brown … what you say aunt cheryl !!!!

  7. Karen Says:

    I don’t have an iron pot. 😦

  8. Grandma/Mom Says:

    Poor you……….u don’t have an iron pot…….u hear that Noelia? Well I will bring a good one from Trinidad when next I am coming. There goes my baggage allowance.

  9. Roger Boyd Says:

    Hi, I’m originally from Georgia (in the Southern US). I now live in Chicago. We love spicy, vibrant food in the Deep South and Jeera Pork definitely fits the bill. I love it and have made it several times. I really think this recipe you’ve posted is great (though I up the scotch bonnet level because I love it hot!) and is excellent with cold beer or rum cocktails.

  10. Rawlins Boodan Says:

    Cook with scorpion pepper just a piece as it is a killer and just add some amchar masala to give it a better taste and colour


Leave a Reply

