A Doctor Visit

Today we took Ben to see his pediatrician for a between-well-child-tube-feed-follow-up visit.  I scheduled this one because it seemed to us that his weight had plateaued after his surgery.  Overall, Ben has been doing well and tolerating his feeds.  We have slowed the nighttime rate down a bit because his MIC-KEY tube seems too tight and leaks a lot again these days.  Tomorrow we see the nurse practitioner at the surgeon’s office to see if she thinks he needs a longer tube.  Our bolus feeds are now up to 2 and a half ounces at a time which is wonderful!

Ben was 10 lbs 8.5 oz completely undressed!  He is at about the 50th percentile for weight for baby boys with CdLS, so he is back on track.   Our pediatrician says that the formula that they use to calculate feed requirements in tube fed kids might not apply at all to kids with CdLS, so he says we can just keep feeding Ben what he tolerates and make sure his weight gain is appropriate.  Sounds good to me!  

I think we’ll be moving up to Size 2 diapers in the very near future.  🙂

Ben got his 3rd Synagis shot and his 2nd flu shot today and is a little fussy this afternoon. 

Last night Isaac asked if Ben could stay with him in his bed while he went to sleep.  After a very few minutes, this is what they looked like:

Isaac & Ben Sleeping

5 Responses to “A Doctor Visit”

  1. Lawrence Says:

    If that is not the sweetest sight I don’t know what is. I think that all three of the boys will grow up very close and indeed Ben will be very lucky to have two older boys to look out for him in the future.

    Honestly, I can’t wait for tommorow; I cannot wait to meet my newest nephew!

  2. Dawn Says:

    That is the most adorable thing. Ben is going to have one (two) staunch ally in his older brother(s).

  3. Grandma/Mom Says:

    I find you are very brave. Isaac sleeps like a clock and you took that big chance. I must confess, its a cute picture though.

  4. kfb1 Says:

    Don’t worry, Grandma. I was in the same room with both of them the whole time (you remember Isaac likes to sleep in the “computer” room these days). We had a pillow on the other side of Ben, and once they both fell asleep Ben was moved safely to his crib. I would NEVER leave them alone and unsupervised! You should know me better than that!
    – Karen.

  5. Grandma/Mom Says:

    I was wondering if you went steering mad. Thanks for re-assuring me…..hehe. I can now relax and enjoy it some more.


Leave a Reply

