Christmas Tree Hunt

Mark, Isaac and Jonny at Tree Farm

Every year our family has the same tradition a couple weeks before Christmas; we go out to a local tree farm and choose a live tree to decorate.   For the last 2 years we have gone to the same farm.  It is really neat – they have a hayride to get to the trees, hot chocolate and cookies while you wait for your tree to be baled, and live reindeer for the kids to see.  Yesterday was really warm but today was not!  It was cold and windy.  Ben was very unhappy about the wind….

Ben at Tree Farm

It was very cold and because we didn’t have a cart to carry the tree on, we chose one of the first trees we saw and hurried back into the (relative) warmth of the barn.  Isaac and Jonny behaved very well and had a great time, but Jonny’s teeth were chattering by the time we left.  Ben fussed for most of the trip.  Once we got home into the real warmth he was much happier.  I think some of my tropical genes have definitely been passed on to him!  😉

Much Warmer Now, Thanks!

The older two were very excited and did a great job of decorating the bottom half of the tree while Ben watched from his swing.  The top half is for Mom and Dad to put the breakable ornaments, but I am too tired to do it tonight.  I think it will wait until tomorrow, after all, Christmas is still 3 weeks away!

Boys in Santa HatsBoys Decorating Tree

7 Responses to “Christmas Tree Hunt”

  1. kelly Says:

    WOW! What an amazing tree!
    I want a real one now…booohiss. We have a toddler and I have found in the past toddlers and xmas trees dont mix all that well. Especially real ones.
    I cant wait to put my decorations up. 🙂

  2. kfb1 Says:

    So far we haven’t had any tree mishaps with the older two and we’ve had real trees for years… we’ll see how Ben handles them as he gets older. We might have to anchor it to the ceiling or something! 😉
    – Karen.

  3. Grandma/Mom Says:

    very nice pictures and reporting. Mark looks especially handsome in the first photo. Keep up the good work. Can’t believe that Ben is 7 months already.

  4. kfb1 Says:

    I am glad you approve, Mom! 😉
    We want to make sure you feel like you’re still here. One day I will put a video clip of Jonny screaming so it will be more realistic. 🙂
    I am sure Mark will like the compliment!
    I can’t believe it’s been 7 months either. Time flies.
    – Karen.

  5. Shelly Says:

    It’s so great to start traditions that the children can look forward to every year. I love the pic of the boys decorating the tree. I think it’s great to just step back and let them have a part too. That’s what helps to build their self confidence and sense of belonging. Great pictures too. I really enjoy the updates. (Ben sure does have a cute smile by the way). 🙂

  6. Lawrence Says:

    The pictures make me really excited to visit. I am looking forward to the trip and some well deserved rest and relaxation. Rhoda too is very excited; I wonder if I can squeeze another trip up to philly during my visit. I think she would like to see the artsy stuff there.

    Is it seven months already? It seems like only three!!!

  7. Aliyah Says:

    Lawrence, if you’re going to Philly, you *have* to do that when I’m back at Karen’s. I’ve lived here for a year and a half and I’ve never been to Philly.

    I’m sad that I missed the tree decorating this year, Karen! It looks like it was loads of fun! 😦


Leave a Reply

