Blog Challenge: Angels Among Us

In many ways, this year has been the most challenging so far for our family, mainly because of the birth of our son Ben who has Cornelia de Lange syndrome and lots of special needs.  Since Ben’s birth, however, we have been showered with kindness from friends, relatives, and even some people who don’t even know us all that well.  This latest Blog Challenge has inspired me to mention some of these:

My sister Aliyah took care of the two older boys while I was in labor at the hospital.  Fortunately I was induced on the weekend so she didn’t have classes.  She also did alot of babysitting for them when Ben was in the NICU. 

My dad flew in all the way from Trinidad to hold down the fort here while we drove back and forth to the NICU which was more than an hour’s drive one way from our home.

Our best friends in town are a couple who have twin daughters Isaac’s age.  They were just wonderful.  They called each day to find out how things were, and even better, they gave daily updates to co-workers and other well-wishers and asked them (at our request) not to call us in those unbelieveably hectic days following Ben’s birth.  That simple act of kindness meant alot to us – we were spared having to go through the details a hundred times, especially when there were so many unanswered questions and painful answers.  They watched Jonny and Isaac a few days when we went to the NICU, and one day the wife even drove me down to the NICU when Mark went to pick up my dad from the airport.

Isaac’s best friend’s mom also babysat for us a couple days and entertained Jonny all day – no small feat!

The other parents from Isaac’s preschool were very thoughtful.  They made meals for us every day for at least the first 3 weeks after Ben’s birth.  What can I say?  It was nice not having to worry about such mundane matters when your baby is in the NICU.  They also gave us a basket full of preemie sized clothes, blankets and gift cards to local restaurants, etc. which were useful during the long daily commute.

My co-workers took up a collection and bought us some gas cards which were much appreciated with gas prices being as high as they are.

We stayed one night at the Ronald Mc Donald House and were impressed by the caring staff there too.  They gave us a hand-knitted blanket; one of many that had been donated by kind people in the community for babies who were in the hospital.

There have been others who I just know I’m forgetting, but we do have so much to be thankful for.   They all helped to make a difficult time a little bit easier for us, and I hope one day to be able to do the same for someone else in need.

Ben NICU 2 days old

5 Responses to “Blog Challenge: Angels Among Us”

  1. Lawrence Says:

    Karen; I think it as times like these in life that we all learn exactly who are our real freinds. I too am inspired by the outpouring of support that the family received during this trying time. Although I could not make the trip to assist when Ben was born, he was always in my thoughts and prayers. Indeed I still pray daily for his continued progress and development.

    I join with you then in thanking all the people who assisted, helped or just prayed for Ben in his earlier days.

  2. Brown Nancy Says:

    I love this blog. I think I will take your challenge and remember all those who have helped us along the way. I hope you don’t mind. I will link it in my blog so those who read about me can link to your beautiful baby!!!

    Nancy Brown

  3. kfb1 Says:

    Thanks Nancy! I look forward to reading your post. – Karen.

  4. Shelly Says:

    Karen,

    What a beautiful post! I truly admire and respect you guys and just love your family. This has been the most updated I’ve been for a long time…hehe. Thanks a lot Mark! Just kidding, you’ve done a great job of staying in touch. I’m so glad you’ve been surrounded with so much love and support and I pray that God continues to show Himself faithful in your lives and that you see glimpses of Him everywhere you go and every new situation you face.

  5. Misty (mason's mom) Says:

    i was just looking through your blog and came across this!! do you mind if i use this challenge on my blogger page?? it is so crazy how similar our little ones are…. i will probably say this a million times over the course of our life times!! so get used to it!! LOL! i love your blog…it gives me so much hope and comfort. you have one beautiful family!!


Leave a Reply

