Lazy Saturday

 Black & White Boys

We’re all feeling better.  We started Jonny on some amoxicillin, but everyone else seems to be recovering nicely without antibiotics.  Ben is still not back to his smiley self, but he no longer has a fever.  He is also tolerating his regular feed volumes, which is a good sign.  He is still sleeping more than usual, but I expect he will soon be back to normal.

We didn’t do much today other than some grocery shopping.  We are trying to convince the older boys to clean up since we are having family over for Thanksgiving and I don’t want the house to be a pigsty like it is today.

We’ve been more faithful with doing Ben’s “tummy time” over the past 2 weeks and already we’re seeing an improvement in how much he can hold his head up.  We hadn’t done it very much in the weeks after his g-tube surgery because we didn’t want to hurt him.  Two weeks ago he couldn’t keep his head up more than a second or two; now he can for several minutes at a time.  Tonight we gave him a taste of applesauce, and he enjoyed that.  He still doesn’t suck well on a pacifier and has a very sensitive gag reflex.  He does a good job of standing if we support his arms.  It’s so cute to see such a tiny baby standing!

Tummy Time on Boppy 2Ben standing, arms held

I made salmon tonight.  It was supposed to be baked, but the oven wasn’t working right.  I actually had to finish it off in the $30 toaster oven.  I really hope we don’t have to buy a new oven.  😦

Mark is contemplating going to EB Games at midnight to see if we can get one of those new Nintendo Wii consoles.  We have reserved “The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess” game but not a console.  I don’t know, are we getting too old for such nonsense?  😉

I think I have finally decided to buy a Palm TX….as soon as we get the money.

6 Responses to “Lazy Saturday”

  1. Brown Nancy Says:

    Hi, I have accidentally run across your blog and I am so happy to have seen it. Our best friend had a daughter pass away that had CDLS! We loved her so much. My son is a preemie and we spent many hours and days in the NICU holding our loved ones. Is it okay if I link you to mine?

    nancy Brown
    nancy@port21.com

  2. kfb1 Says:

    Hi Nancy,
    Sure, you can link me to your blog. Your son Tyler is beautiful! 🙂
    – Karen.

  3. Mom/Grandma Says:

    Yes. I think you all are too old for that nonsense. I was wondering what was happening to the daily updates, but I forgot you all were down with the flu.

    Wish I could be there for Thanksgiving.

  4. kfb1 Says:

    I think I spoke too soon about Ben’s fever. This morning he woke up crying and his temperature was 102.4 rectally. It came down with Tylenol and since then he has not been acting sick. If he has a fever in the morning we’ll take him to see his doctor.
    I wish you were here too. I am still deciding on the Thanksgiving menu. I just hope the oven works right for the turkey! I won’t be able to fit a 20 lb bird in the toaster oven! 🙂
    No luck with the Nintendo Wii. Yes, I think we are silly too. I guess we’ll have to wait until the next shipment comes out…
    – Karen.

  5. Lawrence Says:

    Karen, is it absolutely neccessary for us to know that the temperature was taken rectally? :-0

    The boys look really sweet in the first B&W picture. You have to make prints of that one.

    As for being silly on the Nintendo system, expensive toys are what keeps me feeling young!

  6. Sandi Says:

    Glad to hear you all are feeling better! I hope Ben’s fever is down and he’s better soon. The b&w photo of the boys is gorgeous!! Love the new ones of Ben too…he looks so precious standing 🙂

    Sandi


Leave a Reply

